Derived from real human data, Anatomy.TV provides 3D anatomical structures, clinical slides, dissections and animations. The University subscription allows access to the following modules:
- 3D Atlas of Human Anatomy
- 3D Real-time of Human Anatomy
- Anatomy & Physiology Online
- Sports Therapy & Rehabilitation Package (includes Functional Anatomy)
- Imaging (MSK Ultrasound and CT MRI modules)
- Dentistry Package
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering (formerly Current Technology Database), is an abstracting and indexing service monitoring publications from the U.K. and the U.S. Coverage includes new technologies such as information technology and computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, as well as engineering (including construction, electrical and chemical engineering) and allied subject areas. Abstracts are available from January 1993 to the present.
Sources covered include over 350 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases.
Part of ProQuest's Engineering Collection.
Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy is the online video resource for learning about anatomy and is divided into five sections:
1 - the upper extremity
2 - the lower extremity
3 - the trunk
4 - the head and neck
5 - the internal organs
Part of the Digimap Collection of on-line mapping and data delivery facilities. Users can view the data through their web browser, save the data for printing and download the aerial imagery data for use in geographical information systems.
Aerial Digimap contains aerial imagery data at scales ranging from 1:150,000 to 1:500 available for making maps online or for download. Standard tasks that Aerial Digimap allows you to perform are: selecting your area of interest in Great Britain by zooming and panning; viewing maps at one of 11 pre-defined scales with Ordnance Survey background maps; click on images to display flight dates for each tile; annotate the maps with symbols, lines, polygons and labels
This abstract and indexing database has comprehensive focus on trade, technical and scientific literature concerning all aspects of water resources. Major subjects of coverage include water resources and supplies management, water legislation, water quality, potable water distribution, wastewater collection, water treatment technologies, wastewater and sewage treatment and ecological and environmental effects of water pollution.
Part of ProQuest's Aquatic Science Collection and ProQuest's Environmental Science Collection.
ASTM International is one of the largest voluntary standards development organizations in the world. A trusted source for technical standards for materials, products, systems, and services they are known for their high technical quality and market relevancy, ASTM International standards have an important role in the information infrastructure that guides design, manufacturing and trade in the global
A full-text searchable database of UK-based health and safety information, including environment and food safety information. Contains regulations, guidelines, articles, sumaries of key documents and guides which provide a quick overview of a topic.
This database benefits any researcher working with algae, fungi, protozoa, or lichens, separating out all the relevant studies in the literature and organizing them in one source for easy reference. The scope of coverage includes reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics and infection and immunity in man, other animals and plants. This database is a convenient and time- saving resource for microbiologists as well as research professionals in immunology, pathology, environmental research, toxicology and other related fields.
Full-text of subscribed British Standards in pdf format. These standards are officially approved specifications covering methods of testing, terminology, performance, construction requirements and codes of practice.
CAB ABSTRACTS is a bibliographic database compiled by CAB INTERNATIONAL. It covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources.
This is a collection of several health and safety-related databases made available by the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety. The service covers the toxic effects of chemicals and gives information on safe workplace practices.
ChemSpider is a free repository service from the Royal Society of Chemistry which allows the facility to search, aggregate and data mine publically available chemical data. This chemical structure database provides fast text and structure search access to over 47 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 4,175 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with coverage dating as far back as 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines.
In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Searchable cited references for more than 1,300 journals are also included. Full-text material includes journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care in fields as diverse as diagnostic tests, public health, health promotion, pharmacology, surgery, psychology and the organization and delivery of health care.
It includes the DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects) database. This database contains abstracts of systematic reviews that have been quality-assessed.
Each abstract includes a summary of the review together with a critical commentary about the overall quality.
Compendex is part of Ei Engineering Village along with INSPEC and GeoBase. It is the world's most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. Abstracts cover over 5,000 international journals, conference proceedings and technical papers. Coverage of over 175 engineering and related disciplines is from 1884 onwards.
This multi-volume reference book contains case studies and covers the following subjects: numerical and computational methods, failure, fracture, fatigue amnd bio-engineering. E-version available from the Knovel collection and print version available at TA 645.
CIS is a searchable database of full-text journal articles, standards, regulatory and advisory documents used by practitioners in the UK construction industry. It also includes publication from the Building Research Establishement (BRE) and the Transport Research Laboratory (TRL).
Please note we do not subscribe to the British Standards Extra Supplement within this resource. Please see the 'British Standards Online (BSOL)' resource available via FindIt@Bham.
EMBASE Classic is the latest addition to Ovid's offering of archival content in the health sciences, offering immediate access to more than 1.8 million records from 43 Excerpta Medica abstract print volumes published between 1947-1973
EMBASE, the Excerpta Medica database, produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. EMBASE is one of the most widely used biomedical and pharmaceutical databases because of its currency and in-depth indexing. Frequent updates allow access to the latest medical and pharmacological trends. Approximately 375,000 records are added yearly.
This database provides validated engineering design data, methods and software that form an important part of the design operations of companies large and small throughout the world. It is useful for a wide range of subjects, including aerodynamics, engineering structures, fatigue, fluid mechanics, stress and strength and tribology. It includes worked examples and reviews of the literature.
GEOBASE is part of Ei Engineering Village along with Compendex and INSPEC. It is a multidisciplinary database providing bibliographic information and abstracts for human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics and development studies. The database provides current coverage of over 1800 journals and archival coverage of 2000 additional journals from 1973 onwards.
INSPEC is part of EI Engineering Village along with Compendex and GEOBASE. It includes bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics. Coverage is from 1896.
The series Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) has established itself as a medium for the publication of new developments in Computer Science and Information Technology research and teaching. Its mission is to serve the Computer Science R&D community by providing a valuable publication service.
The University of Birmingham has access to content in the LNCS series from 1997.
MedicinesComplete provides online access to some of the world's leading drug and healthcare references. Resources include British National Formulary (BNF), BNF for children, Martindale: the complete drug reference, Clarke's analysis of drugs and poisons and Stockley's drug interactions. These individual resources are also listed separately.
Please search for Merck Index separately on FindIt@Bham
Produced by the National Library of Medicine in the USA, the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. Please note that NLM data is also available via PubMed.
An authoritative source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals.
It contains over 11,500 monographs – including historic records not available in the print edition. The Merck Index Online is regularly updated with accurate information curated by experts.
The Merck Manuals are a series of healthcare books for medical professionals and consumers. The Online Medical Library provides essential information on diagnosing and treating medical disorders to help health care professionals and medical students deliver the best care. This also includes information on dental disorders.
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. It has been developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality to help you quickly discriminate between trials which are likely to be valid and interpretable and those which are not.
The Polymer Library remains the largest dedicated resource of polymer information in the world, with around 1,000,000 abstracts. The Polymer Library provides valuable information to the rubber, plastics, adhesives and composite industries and those utilising polymer products. The intelligent search facility helps you to find the information you need quickly and effectively.
Coverage is fully international with source material in a wide range of languages from 30 different countries including North America, Australia, Europe, Japan and China.
Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. It is built to support chemists in their daily work with focused and relevant information in chemistry.
Reaxys has extensive coverage of quality, authoritative information in organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry. Expert chemists carefully select journals and patents so that only high-quality, experimental data are included. The coverage of structures, properties and citations in inorganic and organometallic chemistry is data sourced from the Gmelin database.
SAE Digital Library references thousands of SAE Technical Papers and/or SAE Standards covering the latest advances and research in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology. Sample coverage includes fuels and lubricants, emissions, electronics, brakes, restraint systems, noise, engines, materials, lighting, and more. Your SAE service includes detailed summaries, complete documents in PDF, plus document storage and maintenance.
The Library has the SAE Technical Papers going back to 1917 in print format, as the SAE Transactions, shelved at TL in Zone 1D of the Main Library.
Please Note - The University only has access to The Technical Papers and Full Text Journal Articles (1998 to current) not to The Standards.
This is web-based version of Chemical Abstracts and requires a one time only registration to gain a personal username and password. Please go to this link to access the registration form:
SciFinder is the largest bibliographic database for the chemical sciences. In addition to the usual title/author/keyword searching it supports chemical structure and reaction searching, as well as searching for using CAS registry numbers. Journal articles, conferences and patents are also indexed.
Search hints: Please note SciFinder is only compatible with IE v.7 or above or with any version of Firefox.
Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.
A collection of over 20 engineering specific databases. It indexes world literature on technology and applied science, including materials science, aerospace engineering, mechanical engineering, civil engineering, condensed matter physics, computer science and electronic engineering. Also incorporating Materials Research Database with METADEX, Engineering Research Database, High Technology Research Database with Aerospace and all of their subfiles.
THis website contains statistical data produced by the Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy. We have an institutional subscription but all users need to register while on campus to receive their unique username and password.
This abstract and indexing database is a comprehensive resource for professionals in this field and is specifically focused to meet the needs of toxicologists. The database covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues. Coverage is from 1981
Part of ProQuest's Biological Science Collection and ProQuest's Environmental Science Collection.