Skip to main content

FindIt@Bham: Finding databases

FindIt@Bham online help

Finding databases

 

Using Find Databases

The Find Databases option enables you to search for specific remote databases and include these databases in FindIt@Bham searches.

To display the Find Databases lightbox, click the Find Databases link, which appears at the top of each page and to the right of the Search Scope drop-down list on the Advanced Search page.

Searching for Databases

The All Databases tab displays all of the databases to which your institution has subscribed. If you would like to search for specific databases, fill in the relevant fields on the upper section of the lightbox and then click the Find Databases button. To display the results, click the Databases Results tab.

Selecting Databases

You can select databases from either the All Databases tab or the Databases Results tab (if you have performed a search). Databases that are marked as restricted cannot be searched, but can be linked to directly.

Because some of the restrictions are due to authorization, it is recommended that you sign in.

To select databases, select the check box next to each database that you want to include in FindIt@Bham searches. As you select a database, it is added to the list of databases on the Selected Databases tab.

After you have completed your selections, click the Selection Completed button to exit the lightbox and to update the Selected Databases search scope. You will need to select this search scope to search the selected databases.

Viewing Database Search Results

The Databases Results tab contains a list of all the databases that match the criteria you specified in the database search.

Viewing Selected Databases

The Selected Databases tab displays a list of all the databases that you have selected from either the All Databases tab or the Databases Results tab.

Using the Brief Results

The Brief results display all the items that match your search query. For each item, the following information displays:

Resource Type—the format of the item, such as book, article, journal, and so forth.
Title—Depending on your institution’s configuration, clicking the title displays either the item’s information or the online resource.
Author, creator, and date—the item’s author, creator, and publication date

Star icon—click the Star icon next to the title to add or remove the item from your basket. A highlighted star indicates that you have already added it to your basket.

View Online Tab

The View Online tab displays items that are available online inside the tab. If the item has multiple entries, click an entry to display the item on a new page.

Request Tab

The Request tab allows you to request physical items (such as books and audio CDs) from your institution. You may be able to request these items directly from FindIt@Bham. Otherwise, this tab will link you to your institution to perform requests. Note that you may have to sign in to FindIt@Bham or your institution to make a request.

Locations Tab

The Locations tab lists all of the locations that hold this item. To get more information on the location that holds the item, click either the location link or the Plus icon.

Details Tab

The Details tab displays the item’s full record and additional links.

Just Ask!