Skip to main content

American and Canadian Studies: Specialist Subject Resources

Subject support from Library Serrvices for staff and students in American and Canadian Studies

Cadbury Research Library

Manuscript from the Mingana Collection, Cadbury Research Library

The Cadbury Research Library, in the Muirhead Tower, is the home for  Special Collections and Archives of the University of Birmingham. The collections comprise approximately 200,000 pre-1850 books dating from 1471 and some 4 million manuscripts. The Cadbury Research Library welcomes all interested users, both staff and students of the University and members of the public.

Opening hours

  • Monday - 10am – 5pm
  • Tuesday - 9am – 5pm
  • Wednesday - 9am – 5pm
  • Thursday - 9am – 7pm
  • Friday - 9am – 5pm

Please note: requests for material must be placed by 4.15pm, or 4.30pm on Thursdays. If you are visiting on our late Thursday opening but are arriving after 4.30pm, you will need to pre order the material you wish to consult.

Closed days

The Cadbury Research Library is closed on all University closed days.

Specialist Libraries at the University of Birmingham

Special Collections in American and Canadian Studies at the University of Birmingham

Cadbury Research Library Special Collections holds a number of important archive collections available for research. These include the British Association for American Studies; papers of Sir Evelyn Shuckburgh (1909-1994) diplomat; and the archive of Beatrice Warde (1900-1969), Vice-President of the British American Canadian Associates.

Please contact the Cadbury Research Library if you would like further details.

Specialist Libraries

19th century journals in the Barber Fine Art Library

  • You can use the COPAC catalogue to search the collections of approximately 90 major UK and Irish libraries in a single search. Library collections listed include Oxford and Cambridge Universities, the British Library and libraries at the National Trust and Royal Botanical Gardens, Kew.
  • If you wish to visit another UK university library, you might be eligible for a SCONUL card. This will allow you reference access to a large number of academic libraries around the UK. For more information on using other libraries please look at Access Schemes

Finding Books