Skip to main content

American and Canadian Studies: Resources on Slavery

Subject support from Library Serrvices for staff and students in American and Canadian Studies

Cambridge Companions Online

The Oxford Companion to Black British History

The Oxford companion to Black British history / edited by David Dabydeen, John Gilmore and Cecily Jones.

Oxford : Oxford University Press 2010

Main Library   DA 125.N4 O

Resources in the Library of BirminghamPublic Library

The Library of Birmingham' s Black History Collection contains items connected with the contexts of Empire, slavery, abolition, ‘race’, racism and anti-racism including a substantial collection of nineteenth century British Parliamentary papers and a collection of anti-slavery pamphlets

Digitised primary sources

American Memory
American Memory provides access  to digitized materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions which chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America. Includes Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938  American memory Slaves and the Courts, 1740-1860

Library of Congress Slavery Resource Guide
This guide compiles links to slavery resources throughout the Library of Congress Web site. In addition, it provides links to external Web sites focusing on slavery

Digital Library on American Slavery
The DLAS contains many digitized items and collections including for example: The Race and Slavery Petitions Project which contains detailed information on about 150,000 individuals, extracted from wide range of documents, including wills, petitions, inventories, deeds, bills of sale, depositions, court proceedings relating  to slaves, free people of color, and whites, both slave owners and non-slave owners. The North Carolina Runaway Slave Advertisements project which provides online access to runaway slave advertisements published in North Carolina newspapers from 1751 to 1840.

British Library - Campaign for Abolition
This resource, based on documents in the British Library covers the campaign to abolish slavery  in the 18th and 19th centuries,  including minutes from the meetings of the Abolition Committee and to examine first hand, eye witness accounts of slavery.

Recovered Histories.org
Digitized  collection of 18th and 19th century literature on the Transatlantic Slave Trade from Anti-Slavery International library. Recovered Histories captures the narratives of the enslaved, enslavers, slave ship surgeons, abolitionists, parliamentarians, clergy, planters and rebels

Trading faces online
Summary of selected websites featuring information and digitised archival resources mainly relating to the Abolition 2007 bicentenary commemorations.

 

Interdisciplinary digitized primary sources

Online image libraries

Slave quarters image by Shawn Harquail from Flickr.com