Skip to main content

Drama and Theatre Arts: Bibliographic Databases

Subject support from Library Services for staff and students in Drama and Theatre Arts

Tips for accessing databases

It is important to remember that whenever you are accessing databases you need use the Sign in link at the top right of FindIt@Bham to enter your University username and password to ensure that you get full access to all the resources. This proves to the suppliers of these resources that you are entitled to use them.

Bibliographic databases

 

 

 

Primary source databases

In addition to books, eBooks, journals and journal databases, some disciplines have other subject specific databases which provide primary source data. These will be invaluable for research, essays and dissertations.

Subject Specific databases can be found via FindIt@Bham. Click on the 'Find Databases' tab from the top navigation bar and enter the name of the database.

Using primary source databases to find information in your field

Primary source databases found on FindIt@Bham that are relevant to Drama and Theatre Arts include:

RSC Performance Database
http://calm.shakespeare.org.uk/dserve/dserve.exe?dsqApp=Archive&dsqDb=Catalog&dsqCmd=SearchRSC.tcl
Data about plays, productions and the creative and performing artists who have been involved with the RSC and its predecessors in Stratford-upon-Avon from 1879 to the present. Facility to search for performances of a play, by venue or date, or for people or roles. From the resulting list you will be guided to the performance record which gives details of the production including the full cast list. Contains list of reviews up to 1993.