Anyone can put information on the web, so how can you tell if it's reliable and accurate?
Useful websites that are relevant to Drama and Theatre Arts include:
AHDS Performing Arts
AHDS Performing Arts supports research, learning and teaching with high quality and dependable digital resources related to music, dance, theatre, radio, film, television, and performance.
Association of Performing Arts Collections
Provides a single point of entry for finding and searching performing arts collections in the UK.
British History Online
Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
British Library Theatre Archive Project
This website accompanies a major project to reinvestigate British theatre history 1945-1968, from the perspectives of both the theatregoer and the practitioner.
The British Theatre Guide
http://www.britishtheatreguide.info/index.htmGood source of reviews, articles, interviews etc on all aspects of British theatre.
Designing Shakespeare is a vast resource of photographs, reviews, and information relating to significant Shakespeare productions 1960-2000. The site was developed to help students and scholars gain a greater understanding of the work of theatre designers working in Britain during the last forty years of the previous century. It was also designed to illustrate the vast range of possible interpretations of Shakespeare's work.
East London Theatre archive
Website of the Performing Arts trade union
Folger Shakespeare Library
Home to the world’s largest and finest collection of Shakespeare materials and to major collections of other rare Renaissance books, manuscripts, and works of art. Website offers the facility to learn about Folger events and resources, both online and on location. Online texts, teaching tools and digital collections. A great resource. Link to the Hamnet catalogue.
Internet Broadway Database
The official database for Broadway theatre information, the website contains information about productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
Internet theatre bookshop
British site selling virtually every play currently published in the English language
National Theatre Archive
A virtual showcase for the history of the National Theatre, displaying images of the various media held by the Archive. Contains link to the archive catalogue and bibliography on the history of the theatre.
Official London Theatre Guide
Run by the Society of London Theatre
Over 40,000 free ebooks including historic texts.
Royal Shakespeare Company
Explore a wide variety of information on current and past productions at the theatre.
RSC Performance Database
Data about plays, productions and the creative and performing artists who have been involved with the RSC and its predecessors in Stratford-upon-Avon from 1879 to the present. Facility to search for performances of a play, by venue or date, or for people or roles. From the resulting list you will be guided to the performance record which gives details of the production including the full cast list. Contains list of reviews up to 1993.
Society for Theatre Research
Information on American theatre with links to other sites.
Theatre Reviews Limited
Reviews from New York, New Jersey, and around the US
An online theatre resource covering selected work from the National Theatre, the Royal Court, and Northern Broadsides. Features interviews with actors and directors, footage of rehearsals and behind the scenes activity, clips from performances and resources for teachers.
Online resource for audio material about British Theatre. Top critics discuss the latest shows and talk to leading actors, writers, directors and designers about their work.
Touchstone was set up to identify and map significant UK Shakespeare collections. It aims to facilitate and encourage research in Shakespeare studies that will benefit both the academic and the wider community. Has useful listings of current productions of Shakespeare and other Renaissance drama and a database of Shakespeare productions from 1996-2008 called Traffic of the Stage.
UK Theatre Collections database in Culture Grid
The UK Theatre Collections database in Culture Grid contains descriptions of over 250 collections in Association for Performing Arts Collections member and other institutions.
UK Theatre Web
University of Bristol Theatre Collections
Details of the great number of collections held at Bristol in addition to the Mander & Mitchenson Collection.
University of Warwick Centre for the Study of the Renaissance
Teaching and learning tool for contextualising the period and for engaging with the playtexts. Resources on Thomas Kyd, Christopher Marlowe, Ben Jonson, John Webster and Thomas Middleton.
Virtual Manuscript Room
Renaissance Theatre Company prompt books, unpublished film scripts, letters of Mary Cowden Clarke and other treasures from the University’s Shakespeare collections.
What's on Stage
Britain's National Performing Arts Information Service
For more websites see the LibGuide for Shakespeare and Renaissance Studies
There is a huge range of information on the Internet, but you need to be vigilant about the quality of what you find. Using subject gateways and sites which are created by subject specialists will ensure that you find information that has been evaluated for its academic quality.