Skip to main content

Music: Journals

Subject support from Library Services for staff and students in Music

Journals

Tips for accessing journals

It is important to remember that whenever you are accessing ejournals you need use the Sign in link at the top right of FindIt@Bham to enter your University username and password to ensure that you get full access to all the resources. This proves to the suppliers of these resources that you are entitled to use them.

ZETOC

Zetoc

Zetoc is a current awareness service created by the British Library and it gives access to over 29,000 journals and more than 52 million article citations and conference papers, from 1993 to present day. Zetoc is updated daily and it covers all subject areas.

Zetoc Alert

Zetoc Alert is a current awareness service that sends you email alerts matching the search criteria that you have provided whenever new data is loaded into the database. The searches may be for particular journals, for authors and for keywords from the titles of articles and papers.

For more information go to http://zetoc.mimas.ac.uk

Journals

Journals are also known as periodicals. They are an important resource because they are:

  • published on a regular basis
  • contain the most up to date scholarly research
  • tend to be shorter and more specific than books.

Use bibliographic databases to search for a topic of interest.  Bibliographic databases will provide a list of relevant journal articles and sometimes also books, reports, working papers and conference proceedings.

Some of the databases will provide you with direct full-text access to the articles. Some will provide an index and abstract (a short summary) of the article, in which case use the 'FindIt@Bham' button to check if there is full text available. 

Whenever you are accessing online journals and databases you need use the Sign in link at the top right of the screen to enter your University username and password.  This will ensure that you get full access to all the resources. 

Using bibliographic databases to find journal articles

Resources found on FindIt@Bham that are relevant to Music include:

Setting up alerts on databases

Setting up alerts in RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCO)

Do a couple of keyword searches on RILM

If you have been successful with a particular combination of keywords in finding the kind of references you want:

  • Click on the Save Searches/Alerts link below the Search History/Alerts heading;
  • Create an account with EBSCO (if you don’t have one already);
  • Fill in the Name of Alert/Search and Description fields. Check that the other fields have been ‘auto-filled’ correctly. Click Alert – further fields will appear. Complete these additional fields including frequency of alert, the period you wish to run the alert for and the e-mail address where you would like the alert sent. Click Save;
  • You will be sent an email at the frequency you requested showing any new items articles which have been added which matches your keywords.

Are you being asked to pay for an article?

You may see a request for payment when you try to access a full-text article. We do not expect you to pay for articles in this way.  A payment request can mean one of three things:

•    You need to login to view the content you want to access.  Make sure you are logged in to Findit@Bham and/or look for an institutional login option somewhere on the page and follow the instructions.  

•    We may not subscribe to the content you are trying to access.  Check Findit@Bham to see which years are covered by our subscription to the journal.  There may be a print copy in the Library.

•    There may be a system error for the particular article or journal you are trying to access.  Please report the fault to IT Service Desk

If you are still unsure how to access the article you need contact an Academic Skills Advisor for advice.