Skip to main content

Theology and Religion: Resources for Pentecostal and Charismatic Studies

Subject support from Library Services for staff and students in Theology and Religion

Harold Turner Collection, University of Birmingham

The collection is a record of Harold Turner's research into the phenomenon of new religious movements arising out of the interaction between traditional cultures and religions with biblical teaching, and with other religions on all continents. The origin and emphasis of the documentation has been whether this phenomenon is wide-spread and how the proliferation of these movements raised important pastoral and theological issues for Christian mission.

The collection comprises periodical and newspaper articles, unpublished papers and original materials.

See the Cadbury Research Library’s catalogue – http://calmview.bham.ac.uk/.

Useful websites

Centre for Pentecostal and Charismatic Studies (University of Birmingham)
Birmingham is now one of the largest and most prominent research centres for Pentecostal and Charismatic Studies throughout the world and our work has received international recognition and acclaim. As well as contributing to the department’s undergraduate programmes, we offer taught and research graduate degrees, and other assistance for researchers.

Donald Gee Centre for Pentecostal and Charismatic Studies

EPCRA - European Pentecostal Charismatic Research Association
Links to worldwide Pentecostal associations, news, and full-text conference papers going back to 1989

European Pentecostal Theological Association
Established in 1981, EPTA offers a forum for promoting research, active fellowship and networking. We bring together many Pentecostal educational institutions primarily in Europe and scholars from all over the world. We also promote education and reflection in the broad area of Pentecostal theology.

GloPent - European Research Network on Global Pentecostalism
Contains extensive bibliographies covering global subjects under "study resources" on the left side of the pageGloPent is dedicated to the study of Global Pentecostal and Charismatic Christianity. This website contains information on research projects, relevant links, a collection of academic papers, and free access to their online journal, all of which can be searched easily.

Hollenweger Center for the Interdisciplinary Study of Pentecostal and Charismatic Movements
Based at Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Online Articles and Papers by Allan Anderson
Anderson is a professor of Global Pentecostal Studies at the University of Birmingham in the UK. He has many of his articles on Pentecostal history available full-text online.

Oral Roberts University: Holy Spirit Research Center
One of the largest and most comprehensive Pentecostal/Charismatic and Holy Spirit collections in the world. Within the last 20 years, denominations have established similarly strong collections, ensuring that, working together, scholars and leaders will find the resources they need to understand and further this great move of God.

Pentecostal and Charismatic Churches in the UK: Center for Pentecostal and Charismatic Studies
At Bangor University

Pentecostal-Charismatic Theological Inquiry International

Pentecostal/Charismatic Churches of North America: Online Resources

Pentecostal World Fellowship: World Directory of Pentecostal Journals

Pew Research Religion & Public Life Project
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.

Pneuma Foundation
"Resources for Spirit-empowered ministry including the latest issue of the "Pneuma Informer."

Regent University: Pentecostal Research Center

Society for Pentecostal Studies

Archives and collections

Consortium of Pentecostal Archives
The Consortium of Pentecostal Archives (CPA) is a collaborative effort initiated by repositories of Pentecostal archival materials to make their materials accessible online. Their digital collections are Pentecostal newspapers that are available to search full-text online.

David du Plessis Archives

Dixon Pentecostal Research Center
As the official archives of the Church of God this center "Collects, preserves & makes available for research Church of God, Pentecostal & Charismatic documents, records & other media."

Flower Pentecostal Heritage Center ( Assemblies of God)
The official archives, research centre, and museum of the Assemblies of God

IPHC - International Pentecostal Holiness Church Archives
 

Pentecostal Collection Northwest University

Pentecostal and Charismatic Research Archive University of South Carolina

Pentecostal Assemblies of Canada: Academic and Archive Resources

Pentecostal/Charismatic Churches

There are so many charismatic and pentecostal churches, many independent,  that it would be impossible to list even a significant proportion of them. Here are a few examples of larger  denominations.

The 120 Church
Access a variety of resources, including free downloads of Rev. Howard Carter, Ken Hagin & Other Pentecostal ministers' recordings

312 Azusa Street
This website explores the historical Azusa Street revival and William J. Seymour, the revival leader.

Apostolic Pentecostal Churches World Directory

The Assemblies of God
The Assemblies of God was founded in 1914 in Hot Springs, Arkansas with 300 people at the founding convention. Today there are more than 12,700 churches in the U.S. with over 3 million members and adherents. There are more than 66 million Assemblies of God members worldwide, making the Assemblies of God the world’s largest Pentecostal denomination.

Pentecostal/Charismatic Churches of North America

Pentecostal World Fellowship