Skip to main content

POLSIS and CREES: Finding Information

Subject support from Library Services for staff and students in POLSIS and CREES

Finding Resources

Students working together smiling

Don't rely on Google or even Google Scholar! Findit@Bham is a great place to start looking for good quality academic resources.

Use these subject pages to find a range of other search tools such as bibliographic databases you can also use.

Our Collections

Library Services at the University has an extensive collection of over 2.7 million items, 50,000 journals, 435,000 eBooks and over 1,100 databases. The collection supports learning, teaching and research at the University of Birmingham and covers all subject areas offered by the University. Our Libraries are:

The Main Library, a new state of the art building opened September 2016

The Barnes  Library

The Barber Fine Art Library

The Orchard Learning Resource Centre (OLRC) on the Selly Oak campus

The Dental Library

The Shakespeare Institute Library in Stratford upon Avon. 

Our collections can be accessed via our FindIt@Bham service  which is a one-stop shop for identifying easily what is available across Library Services’ print and electronic collections.

 

 

 

Finding Books

Findit@Bham is the place to start looking for printed books and ebooks.  For tips on how to make the most of searching Findit see the help page.  If the University doesn't have the book you want try COPAC

Finding Information

  • Books & eBooks
  • Journals
  • Bibliographic Databases
  • Websites
  • Theses
  • Images