Skip to main content

Gender and Sexual Diversity: Journals

Guide to library and information sources in gender and sexual diversity

Open access journals

Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press
http://voices.revealdigital.com/
Digital material from the magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries spanning the 1960’s to the 1980’s. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press. Includes materials from Northwestern University's Charles Deering McCormick Library of Special Collections.

Ling long
https://archive.org/details/cullinglong
Ling long women's magazine, published in Shanghai from 1931 to 1937, was popular during a time of dramatic material, social, and political change in China.

Spare Rib (UK)
https://journalarchives.jisc.ac.uk/britishlibrary/sparerib
Largest feminist circulating magazine of the Women’s Liberation Movement in Britain of the 1970s and 80s. (239 issues between 1972-93).

wH2O: The Journal of Gender & Water
www.wh2ojournal.com/
Annual online, open access academic journal and blog focused on gender and water/sanitation issues worldwide from the University of Pennsylvania.

 

 

 

 

 

ZETOC

Zetoc

Zetoc is a current awareness service created by the British Library and it gives access to over 29,000 journals and more than 52 million article citations and conference papers, from 1993 to present day. Zetoc is updated daily and it covers all subject areas.

Zetoc Alert

Zetoc Alert is a current awareness service that sends you email alerts matching the search criteria that you have provided whenever new data is loaded into the database. The searches may be for particular journals, for authors and for keywords from the titles of articles and papers.

For more information go to http://zetoc.mimas.ac.uk

Tips for accessing journals

It is important to remember that whenever you are accessing ejournals you need use the Sign in link at the top right of FindIt@Bham to enter your University username and password to ensure that you get full access to all the resources. This proves to the suppliers of these resources that you are entitled to use them.

Journals

Journals are also known as periodicals. They are an important resource because they are:

  • published on a regular basis
  • contain the most up to date scholarly research
  • tend to be shorter and more specific than books.

Use bibliographic databases to search for a topic of interest.  Bibliographic databases will provide a list of relevant journal articles and sometimes also books, reports, working papers and conference proceedings.

Some of the databases will provide you with direct full-text access to the articles. Some will provide an index and abstract (a short summary) of the article, in which case use the 'FindIt@Bham' button to check if there is full text available. 

Whenever you are accessing online journals and databases you need use the Sign in link at the top right of the screen to enter your University username and password.  This will ensure that you get full access to all the resources. 

Using bibliographic databases to find journal articles

Resources found on FindIt@Bham that are relevant to gender and sexual diversity include:

Setting up alerts on databases

The following shows you how to set up alerts using either Web of Science or ProQuest which includes  ASSIA adm other important social sciences databases 

Social Sciences Citation Index on Web of Science:

  • Do a couple of keyword searches on the most appropriate database

If you have been successful with a particular combination of keywords in finding the kind of references you want:

  • Click on SEARCH HISTORY at the top of the screen
  • Select the search from the list of searches you have done and click on SAVE HISTORY
  • This will prompt you to set up a private account with your e-mail address and a password
  • When you have done this, select SEND ME E-MAIL ALERTS and either the weekly or monthly frequency

You will then be sent a message notifying you whenever any new references appear on this database matching your search criteria. Most of the large databases have this facility.  You usually have to register your e-mail address and think of a personal username and password, and the alerting service is free of charge.

 

ProQuest

Do a couple of keyword searches on ASSIA

If you have been successful with a particular combination of keywords in finding the kind of references you want:

  • Click on the Create Alert link;
  • Fill in the online form that appears (we would suggest selecting the HTML version and considering how long you want the alert active for using the Stop After drop down menu;
  • Click the Create Alert button;
  • Log into your email account and open the email from ProQuest. Click on the Yes, I want to receive this alert link;
  • You will now be sent an email every time an item is added that includes your keywords.

Are you being asked to pay for an article?

You may see a request for payment when you try to access a full-text article. We do not expect you to pay for articles in this way.  A payment request can mean one of three things:

•    You need to login to view the content you want to access.  Make sure you are logged in to Findit@Bham and/or look for an institutional login option somewhere on the page and follow the instructions.  

•    We may not subscribe to the content you are trying to access.  Check Findit@Bham to see which years are covered by our subscription to the journal.  There may be a print copy in the Library.

•    There may be a system error for the particular article or journal you are trying to access.  Please report the fault to IT Service Desk

If you are still unsure how to access the article you need contact an Academic Skills Advisor for advice.

Browzine

Paula to add relevant Browzine widget here