Skip to main content

Gender and Sexual Diversity: Specialist Subject Resources

Guide to library and information sources in gender and sexual diversity

Specialist Libraries

  • You can use the COPAC catalogue to search the collections of approximately 90 major UK and Irish libraries in a single search. Library collections listed include Oxford and Cambridge Universities, the British Library and libraries at the National Trust and Royal Botanical Gardens, Kew.
  • If you wish to visit another UK university library, you might be eligible for a SCONUL card. This will allow you reference access to a large number of academic libraries around the UK. For more information on using other libraries please look at Access Schemes

The National Archive

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/help-with-your-research/research-guides/gay-lesbian-history/
A guide to researching gay and lesbian history in the UK National Archives

Women's Library @ London School of Economics

Digital artifacts on historical views of women and of the women's rights movement in England.

Women's Library @ London School of Economics

Bishopsgate Institute Library LGBT History Collections

Bishopsgate Library holds a variety of collections relating to LGBT history, politics and culture. These include the archive collections of organisations such as Stonewall and Outrage, and material relating to the Terrence Higgins TrustAchilles Heel magazine and QX magazine

Special Collections at the University of Birmingham

Here is a link to the Cadbury Research Library's LGBTQ Resource Guide .  This tells you about the various collections in the library including for example the Noël Coward archive and the Centre for Contemporary Cultural Studies (University of Birmingham) archives.

 

Coward image courtesy of Cadbury Research Library

 

Noël Coward: an Entertainer Abroad Online exhibition of photographs and documents from the Cadbury Research Library

Women from The Cadbury Research Library  exhibition of photographs and documents from the Cadbury Research Library

 

 

Cadbury Research Library

Manuscript from the Mingana Collection, Cadbury Research Library

The Cadbury Research Library, in the Muirhead Tower, is the home for  Special Collections and Archives of the University of Birmingham. The collections comprise approximately 200,000 pre-1850 books dating from 1471 and some 4 million manuscripts. The Cadbury Research Library welcomes all interested users, both staff and students of the University and members of the public.

Opening hours

  • Monday - 10am – 5pm
  • Tuesday - 9am – 5pm
  • Wednesday - 9am – 5pm
  • Thursday - 9am – 7pm
  • Friday - 9am – 5pm

Please note: requests for material must be placed by 4.15pm, or 4.30pm on Thursdays. If you are visiting on our late Thursday opening but are arriving after 4.30pm, you will need to pre order the material you wish to consult.

Closed days

The Cadbury Research Library is closed on all University closed days.

Specialist Libraries at the University of Birmingham

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Encyclopedia of gender and society
Sage, 2009
Online access

Encyclopedia of gender in media
Sage, 2012
Online access

The gay & lesbian theatrical legacy : a biographical dictionary of major figures in American stage history in the pre-Stonewall era / edited by Billy J. Harbin, Kim Marra, and Robert A. Schanke.
University of Michigan Press, 2005
OLRC Selly Oak  792.0922 GAY

Gay histories and cultures : an encyclopedia / George E. Haggerty, editor
Garland, 2000
Main Library  Reference  HQ76 G

Handbook of gender and women's studies
Sage, 2006
Online access

Handbook of gender, work, and organization 
Wiley, 2011
Online access

Lesbian histories and cultures : an encyclopedia / Bonnie Zimmerman, editor.
Garland, 2000
Main Library  Reference  HQ76 L and  Online access

The Oxford encyclopedia of the Bible and gender studies / Julia M. O'Brien, editor in chief.
Oxford University Press, 2014
Main Library    BS680.W7 O94

The Oxford handbook of Shakespeare and embodiment : gender, sexuality, and race / edited by Valerie Traub.
Oxford University Press, 2016
Shakespeare Institute Library  PR2991