LibGuides: Information Literacy Skills Support for Dubai Students: Business

Welcome

Welcome to the Business pages for Dubai Students

This page brings together key resources for the students of Engineering.

Getting Started

Here are a few important resources to help you on your way:

ABI/INFORM Global - ProQuest This link opens in a new window Full-text access to wide range of business and management journals, newspapers, working papers, magazines etc. Access to some titles is as far back as 1923.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and marketing.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window Electronic index to millions of articles published in over 5,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, covering the last 300 years.
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window Web of Science (previously known as Web of Knowledge) is a gateway service to several databases covering most disciplines. The ‘roaming functionality’ enables you to access it from anywhere and still be recognised as a UoB member. For this feature to continue you must log in on campus or via Findit@Bham at least once every 12 months.

More Resources by Subject

China Data Online This link opens in a new window The China Data Online is the primary data source for China studies. It includes (1) China Statistical Databases; (2) China Census Databases; and (3) China Spatial Data Service (China Geo-Explorer).
China Stock Market and Accounting Research This link opens in a new window GTA (also known as CSMAR) is a leading global provider of China financial market data, China industries and economic data. Data goes back over 55 years for the latter two.
EconLit This link opens in a new window Econlit indexes and abstracts more than 550 international economics journals and provides coverage back as far as 1969 covering all fields of economics.
Fame - Bureau van Dijk This link opens in a new window Database containing information on over 2.8 million (public and private) active companies in the UK and Ireland for up to 10 years.
ThomsonONE.com This link opens in a new window Integrated access to authoritative company and financial data from industry-leading sources, containing information on over 60,000 domestic and global companies, stock exchange indices and exchange rate data.

Websites

There is a huge range of information on the Internet, but you need to be vigilant about the quality of what you find. Using subject gateways and sites which are created by subject specialists will ensure that you find information that has been evaluated for its academic quality. Useful websites that are relevant to Accounting & Finance include:

Key Trends and Facts in the Accountancy Profession (PDF)
This publication provides statistical information and trends on the members and students in the accountancy profession.
Northcote
A free database of UK companies listed on the London Stock Exchange that have a presence on the Web. Information includes: annual and interim reports, press releases, summary financial information, results presentations and webcasts, chairman's statements, price information and broker research. Registration is free.
RBA Business Information on the Internet
a list of evaluated resources on business information.

ABI/INFORM Global - ProQuest This link opens in a new window Full-text access to wide range of business and management journals, newspapers, working papers, magazines etc. Access to some titles is as far back as 1923.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window ASSIA indexes and abstracts over 500 journals from 16 countries (including the UK and US) and provides coverage from 1987.
EconLit This link opens in a new window Econlit indexes and abstracts more than 550 international economics journals and provides coverage back as far as 1969 covering all fields of economics.
The Economist 1992+ This renowned weekly newspaper covers issues in economics, trade, business, politics and current affairs worldwide.
The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2020 This link opens in a new window The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2020 (EHA) is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. In 8,000 issues and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables. Altogether this is a multidisciplinary primary source for researching and teaching the 19th and 20th centuries.
Filings Expert This link opens in a new window PI Navigator is a financial and capital markets database providing access to over 15 million global company filings including annual reports, Mergers and Acquisitions (M&A), equity transactional documents (including Initial Public Offerings) and bond prospectuses. PI Navigator surfaces the value of the data buried within financial documents, providing the ability to significantly reduce the time taken when modelling company financials.

Websites

Adam Smith Institute Online Papers
Founded in the 1970s the Adam Smith Institute (ASI) is a leading UK economic and public policy think tank. Its approach seeks to promote free market forces and competition and provide full text access to useful economic resources.
Economic and Social Research Council
A UK organisation for funding research on economic and social issues. The ESRC supports independent, high quality research which has an impact on business, the public sector and third sector organisations.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers
Founded in 1920 the NBER is a private, non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to conducting economic research and to disseminating research findings among academics, public policy makers, and business professionals. NBER-affiliated researchers study a wide range of topics and they employ many different methods in their work. Key focus areas include developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, and analyzing the effects of public policies.
Research Papers in Economics (RePEc)
A collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 96 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The heart of the project is a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components, all maintained by volunteers. The collected data are then used in various services that serve the collected metadata to users or enhance it.
Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN)
The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 166,700 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 133,300 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format. The eLibrary also includes the research papers of a number of fee-based partner publications.
US Census Bureau
The US Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the people and economy of the United States of America.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. Its Open Knowledge Repository is its official open access repository for its research output and knowledge products.
Zanran
Search engine for data and statistics. Free registration is required to download results.

Databases

Abstracts in New Technologies (ANTE) This link opens in a new window ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering (formerly Current Technology Database), is an abstracting and indexing service monitoring publications from the U.K. and the U.S. Coverage includes new technologies such as information technology and computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, as well as engineering (including construction, electrical and chemical engineering) and allied subject areas. Abstracts are available from January 1993 to the present. Sources covered include over 350 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases. Part of ProQuest's Advanced Technologies and Aerospace Database.

Websites

Northcote
A free database of UK companies listed on the London Stock Exchange that have a presence on the Web. Information includes: annual and interim reports, press releases, summary financial information, results presentations and webcasts, chairman's statements, price information and broker research. Registration is free.

Databases

Xpert HR This link opens in a new window Xpert HR provides accurate, up-to-date information on the whole HR cycle from recruitment through to retirement.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window Emerald provides full text access to over 225 journals, many of which are in the fields of accounting and finance, economics, international business, management and marketing. Recommended starting point for finding journal articles in any field of business
Humanities Index This link opens in a new window Indexes over 300 key journals and newspapers in Humanities. It can be cross-searched with a number of other databases on the ProQuest platform.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Index to journal articles, papers and other resources covering all aspects of sociology, including the sociology of religion.

Websites

Sociosite
This online subject gateway provides useful sociology links to all the main disciplines in sociology.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. Its Open Knowledge Repository is its official open access repository for its research output and knowledge products.

Websites

Cambridge Core
Cambridge Core is an academic online platform from Cambridge University Press (CUP) bringing together CUP's book and journal content.
Centre for Research in Ethnic Relations
Until 2011 the Centre was the major academic body in the UK for the research and teaching of matters concerning racism, migration and ethnic relations. The website now acts as an Archive for the Centre's activities and publications.
GOV.UK
A web gateway giving access to UK central and local government websites. The browseable homepage lists central and local government websites alphabetically by name and by subject and has details of Government policy consultations. The rest of the site arranges access to government information by major topics in the life cycle. In addition there is a search facility for the whole site and a news service UK government portal for government information and services online; formerly ukonline.gov.uk
Office for National Statistics
Office for National Statistics
A service maintained by the Office for National Statistics(ONS) for the United Kingdom providing free access to over 140 datasets taken from UK official statistics.
UK Government Web Archive
The UK Central Government Web Archive is a selective collection of UK Government websites. Archiving started from August 2003, but some sites added since then go back to 1996.
UK Official Publications
UKOP is the official catalogue of UK official publications since 1980. It combines the official catalogue of The Stationery Office with the Catalogue of Official Publications Not Published by the Stationery Office. UKOP is published by TSO (The Stationery Office). The combination of these catalogues has created the most comprehensive and up-to-date source of bibliographic information on government publications in the UK. UKOP also holds thousands of documents archived in full text.

Databases

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
ASSIA indexes and abstracts over 500 journals from 16 countries (including the UK and US) and provides coverage from 1987.
EastView Social Sciences and Humanities Journals This link opens in a new window
A key database of full-text journals and newspapers from Russia and Eastern Europe.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
IBSS includes over 2.6 million references to journal articles, books, reviews from 1951 onwards and includes a higher proportion of foreign language works than other sources
Oxford Scholarship Online : Political Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text collection of Oxford University Press books in Political Science

Websites

North China Herald
The English language North China Herald is universally acclaimed as the prime printed source in any language for the history of the foreign presence in China from 1850 to the 1940s.
OnlineNewspapers.com
Gateway to the websites of national and local newspapers from around the world. Many of them provide full-text access to articles in current or recent issues. Some give access by subscription only.
People's Daily Online
Founded on Jan. 1, 1997, the english language version of People's Daily is a large-scale information interaction platform. As a leading key news website in China, it upholds the belief that "authority and strength originate from the people". With "authority, popularity and credibility" as its tenet, it takes "multiple languages, all media forms, globalization and full coverage" as objectives, and "disseminating China’s news and covering world news" as its mission.
Republica (Italy)
Italian daily newspaper
Translations of the Peking Gazette Online
Translations of the Peking Gazette Online is a database of approximately 8,500 pages of English-language renderings of official edicts and memorials from the Qing dynasty that cover China’s long nineteenth century from the Macartney Mission in 1793 to the abdication of the last emperor in 1912.
World Newspaper Archive (Africa)
More than 40 nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.
World Review
Free-access online publication that provides insight and analysis on global events, covering issues in economics, politics, energy and defence & security.The content is written by leading global experts who play active roles in top universities, think tanks, intelligence services, as government advisors and in business.
Zeit Online Archive - Searchable full-text archive of Die Zeit newspaper from 1946 to the present.

Databases

British Periodicals Collections I, II, III & IV This link opens in a new window Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
Der Spiegel This link opens in a new window Der Spiegel is a weekly German language news magazine. This digital archive spans content from 1947 to date.
EastView Social Sciences and Humanities Journals This link opens in a new window A key database of full-text journals and newspapers from Russia and Eastern Europe.
Financial Times 1996+ This link opens in a new window This world renowned daily business newspaper covers global financial and economics issues as well as topic such as industry, international politics, management and personal finance.
Financial Times Historical Archive 1888 - 2016 This link opens in a new window A complete searchable facsimile run of the worlds most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888 to 2016, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page.
ft.com This link opens in a new window Providing financial news, market, industry and company information from the FT, ft.com provides information via a personal subscription. However, some data may be available to view for free.
Nexis This link opens in a new window Text of newspapers from across the world as well as UK national and local newspapers; Company information and reports. Information regarding a particular country can also be found in this database, as well as a biographical directory of people in the fields of business and commerce.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1998) This link opens in a new window Fulltext of Chicago Tribune (1849-1998)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian (1821-2003) & The Observer (1791-2003) This link opens in a new window Provides full text access to The Guardian (1821 - 2001) and The Observer (1791 - 2003)

eBooks

You can find many individual eBook titles by searching in FindIt@BhamDubai. To restrict your search:

select 'eBooks and eJournals from the drop-down menu, or
refine your search results by eBooks from the menu on the left-hand menu

The following are general collection of ebooks which cover many disciplines:

EBSCO ebook collection This link opens in a new window

It is important to remember that whenever you are accessing ebooks you need to use the sign in link at the top right of FindIt@BhamDubai to enter your University username and password to ensure that you get full access to all the resources. This proves to the suppliers of theses resources that you are entitled to use them.

Yes, you can, but the same restrictions apply for eBooks as they do for print books. Individuals are permitted to print up to one chapter or 5% under the University's copyright licences signed with publisher organisations.

eBooks are different however in that they may be subject to Digital Rights Management (DRM) controls. DRM technology allows publishers to control and manage the usage of their eBooks, for example they can restrict the number of concurrent users and limit the number of pages a user can copy, print or download. As we purchase our eBooks from a variety of sources DRM will vary between each provider. Any restrictions to DRM are imposed by the eBook provider and not the Library. Once these restrictions have been met the provider will prevent you from printing or copying any further text.

See our copyright pages for further information.

There are a number of ebooks and ebook packages available which will be of interest to Business students. Below is a list of a few of them. To find more ebook collections for your area of study use the Databases option in FindIt@BhamDubai and filter your search by 'type'.

EBSCO ebook collection This link opens in a new window