Skip to main content

Classics, Ancient History and Archaeology

Classics, Ancient History and Archaeology

Journals

Journals are also known as periodicals. They are an important resource because they are:

  • published on a regular basis
  • contain the most up to date scholarly research
  • tend to be shorter and more specific than books.

Don't rely on Google or even Google Scholar! Findit@Bham is a great place to start looking for good quality journal articles but you will find out about an even bigger range of journals and articles if you use bibliographic databases.

Use bibliographic databases to search for a topic of interest.  Bibliographic databases will provide a list of relevant journal articles and sometimes also books, reports, working papers and conference proceedings.

Some of the databases will provide you with direct full-text access to the articles. Some will provide an index and abstract (a short summary) of the article, in which case use the 'FindIt@Bham' button to check if there is full text available. 

Whenever you are accessing online journals and databases you need use the Sign in link at the top right of the screen to enter your University username and password.  This will ensure that you get full access to all the resources. 

Bibliographic databases

The Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB)
The Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) holds the largest available collection of references in Egyptological literature and is updated nearly every day. It includes the records and abstracts from Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB, 1947-2001), combined with Bibliographie Altägypten (BA, 1822-1946), the Aigyptos database with keywords, and more than 40,000 further items. Coverage is from 1822 to the present.

JSTOR

Accessibility statement