MoreBooks@Bham makes it easier for Students to suggest books to the Library.
Our 3 Goals
1.Diversify:to diversify our collection and increase the range of books we stock by BAME (Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic), LGBTQ+ and disabled authors. Recommendations that amplify, celebrate and tell the history of under-represented groups are also most welcome.
2. Support:to support students at the University by increasing our wellbeing and study success collections.
3. Supplement: to supplement core reading with modern, academic material that enables students to read around their subject more widely and to make connections/explore new areas of inquiry.
How easy is it to make a suggestion?
It's really easy. Just go to MoreBooks@Bham, read the instructions and fill out the form.
Did you know...?
......We will automatically buy more copies of a text when it is reserved by four or more people?
This collection contains four ebooks: 'Engineering Mechanics: Dynamics', 'Engineering Mechanics: Statics', 'The Science and Engineering of Materials', and 'Physics for Scientists and Engineers: Foundations and Connections'.
Library Services has unlimited online access to over 8,200 ScienceDirect eBooks with coverage across 26 subject areas and seamless integration with the journals our institution subscribes to on SciVerse ScienceDirect.
Access to the ejournals and ebooks we subscribe to is indicated by the green key icon next to the particular title. ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Launched by Oxford University Press in 1995, Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory.
VLeBooksVLeBooks hosts part of the Librarys ebook collection.
Wikibooks is a project to produce educational resources that are free. It covers all subjects and has various search options.
Can I print/copy from eBooks?
Yes, you can, but the same restrictions apply for eBooks as they do for print books. Individuals are permitted to print up to one chapter or 5% under the University's copyright licences signed with publisher organisations.
eBooks are different however in that they may be subject to Digital Rights Management (DRM) controls. DRM technology allows publishers to control and manage the usage of their eBooks, for example they can restrict the number of concurrent users and limit the number of pages a user can copy, print or download. As we purchase our eBooks from a variety of sources DRM will vary between each provider. Any restrictions to DRM are imposed by the eBook provider and not the Library. Once these restrictions have been met the provider will prevent you from printing or copying any further text.