Skip to main content

Civil Engineering

Subject guidance from Library Services for staff and students in Civil Engineering

Journals

Journals are also known as periodicals. They are an important resource because they are:

  • published on a regular basis
  • contain the most up to date scholarly research
  • tend to be shorter and more specific than books.

Don't rely on Google or even Google Scholar! Findit@Bham is a great place to start looking for good quality journal articles but you will find out about an even bigger range of journals and articles if you use bibliographic databases.

Use bibliographic databases to search for a topic of interest.  Bibliographic databases will provide a list of relevant journal articles and sometimes also books, reports, working papers and conference proceedings.

Some of the databases will provide you with direct full-text access to the articles. Some will provide an index and abstract (a short summary) of the article, in which case use the 'FindIt@Bham' button to check if there is full text available. 

Whenever you are accessing online journals and databases you need use the Sign in link at the top right of the screen to enter your University username and password.  This will ensure that you get full access to all the resources. 

Resources for Finding Journal Articles

During the Coronaviris (CoVid-19) pandemic many publishers are offering free access and commentary to resources that are not ordinarily available without a subscription. This is a short list of resources that are relevant to this Guide. Library Services have also compiled a fuller list which will include resources outside of or additional to your area of study.

Access Engineering

AccessEngineering is an engineering reference and teaching platform that delivers interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools. Available until 31 May 2020.

Academic Video Online
A comprehensive video collection of more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counselling, film, health, history, music, and more. Available until 22 June 2020.

CORE
The world's largest collection of open access research papers.

Get the Research
Select the "Open Access only" facet under the search box.

JoVE

The JoVE platform provide videos of scientific experiments from the top laboratories around the globe. Temporary access to eleven educational video collections is available until 15 June 2020.

Open Access Button
Aimed at finding open access versions of published journal articles, which may be added to your reading list in place of a subscription resource.

OAD - Disciplinary Repositories
An extensive list of OA disciplinary repositories or subject repositories is available via the Open Access Directory (OAD) site. This list includes both preprint and postprint repositories.

Unpaywall
Aimed at finding open access versions of published journal articles, which may be added to your reading list in place of a subscription resource.

Accessibility statement