Skip to main content

Equality and Diversity

Archives

Afropean

The Afropean is an online multimedia, multidisciplinary journal exploring the social, cultural and aesthetic interplay of black and European cultures, and the synergy of styles and ideas brought about because of this union.

Black Cultural Archives

Black Cultural Archives is the only national heritage centre dedicated to collecting, preserving and celebrating the histories of African and Caribbean people in Britain.

Black history resource guide : University of Birmingham Cadbury Research Library  

Material held at the University of Birmingham's Cadbury Research Library

The Black Women Oral History Project

The Black Women Oral History Project interviewed 72 African American women between 1976 and 1981. With support from the Schlesinger Library, the project recorded a cross section of women who had made significant contributions to American society during the first half of the 20th century.

Digital Transgender Archive

The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.

Discovery

Discovery holds more than 32 million descriptions of records held by The National Archives and more than 2,500 archives across the country. Over 9 million records are available for download.

George Padmore Institute

The George Padmore Institute is an archive, educational resource and research centre housing materials relating to the black community of Caribbean, African and Asian descent in Britain and continental Europe.

Glasgow Women's Library

Glasgow Women's Library houses a huge collection of periodicals, pamphlets, and objects that focus on LGBTQ women's history.

LGBT Archive UK

The LGBT Archive is a collaborative venture to produce a comprehensive archive of LGBT people, places, events, and organisations in the UK from the earliest times to the present day.

LGBTQ histories

From the 1500s to today, this site charts the struggles for love, identity and legislative change faced by LGBTQ communities in the UK.

National Archives, UK

The National Archives are digitising a growing number of their records. Note than only some of the records available online are free of charge.

World Digital Library

Includes digitised manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings. Material is primarily facsimiles of the original items in their languages of origin and there is an option to select language of material to search. Some contain links to external sites that are not always in English. Metadata and supporting content on home site is in English. Includes a keyword search and browsing by place, time, topic, and format of item. Also has the option of post browsing/searching refinement (e.g . limit results by time period, place etc.)

Accessibility statement