Skip to Main Content

CINAHL and RefWorks: Tutorial

RefWorks: Quick Cite and Create Bibliography

From within your RefWorks account, you can create in-text citations and reference lists / bibliographies which can be copied and pasted into a Word or other document.

This is an alternative to using the Write n Cite plugin, or the Citation Manager add-in, which otherwise give a more direct link for citing and reference lists in Word.

The next section covers this process with text and screenshots.  For a video outline, see the following from supplier Ex Libris on YouTube (includes auto-subtitles).

You should always proof-read any citations and reference lists or bibliographies created by referencing software or manually.  For help and information on referencing details, please see:

RefWorks: Quick Cite and Create Bibliography (continued)

Quick Cite and Create Bibliography

The Quick Cite tool enables citations to be created manually from within RefWorks, and then copied and pasted into the document text.  This feature can be used to create and add a bibliography too.

Select the speech marks or create bibliography icon in RefWorks, then select Quick Cite

  • NB: Quick Cite is not relevant for numbering styles such as Vancouver; you should enter numbers in-text where required.  Create Bibliography is still available for Vancouver as for other styles
  • NB: you can either select your required items in RefWorks before this step, or after.

 

  • You can then choose your Citation Style.

 

  • Tick the boxes to confirm which item[s] you wish to cite, then use the 'copy to clipboard' icon at the right.

  • Paste the citation[s] into your document text at the point required.

Now create and add your Bibliography

  • You can then continue and create a bibliography from the same panel of options
  • These bibliography references  can likewise copied and pasted to where the reference list is required,usually the end of the document

  • NB: provide a suitable header in the document itself, such as "References" or "Reference List", to alert any plagiarism software being used during submission that a reference list is present

This feature is useful if problems have been encountered with inserting citations from directly within the Word Document using Write n Cite or the RefWorks Citation Manager tool. 

Create bibliography can also be useful for creating a list of references to look at with a tutor or supervisor, for example when discussing an assignment such as a detailed or systematic literature review. 

Accessibility statement