LibGuides: Primary Sources for Historical Research: Early English Books (EEBO) and Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) and other collectionss

EEBO

"From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains over 146,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. "

EEBO is now available through ProQuest.

See ProQuest's EEBO user guide for more information about the scope and content of this resource.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) (ProQuest) (New Platform)
Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

ECCO

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) gives access to digital images of books published or printed in Britain, Ireland, territories under British colonial rule, and the United States between 1701 and 1800 as listed in the English Short-title Catalogue (ESTC). ECCO currently contains over 180,000 titles.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
A digital collection of the full text of over 150,000 books published in Britain between 1701-1800

Early European Books

Early European Books - Collections 1 - 4 (5: Wellcome Library volumes only)
A digitised full-text collection of books printed in Europe before 1700 and housed in selected European libraries.

Early Western Korans

Early Western Korans
Early Western Korans is a subsection of the Encyclopaedia of the Qur'ān. This collection contains all Arabic Koran editions printed in Europe before 1850, as well as all complete translations directly from the Arabic (until about 1860). Among the secondary translations, only those into German and Dutch are offered completely. Other translations will follow in the third instalment, which will also feature several variants of the first published Latin translation of the Koran from 1543. Of the partial editions, only the typographically or academically most interesting ones are presented here.