English Literature

Global literary reference work with good coverage of canonical literature originally written in English, French, German and Russian, and is extending its coverage of Spanish, Latin and Greek.

Use the Reference Works tab in ProQuest One Literature to search through over 20 encyclopedias, dictionaries and study guides devoted to literature.

The Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature in Britain comprises over 600 entries spanning key figures, contexts, and influences in the literatures of Britain from the fifth to the sixteenth centuries.

Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

A digital collection of the full text of over 150,000 books published in Britain between 1701-1800

Contains the full text of works by women writers between 1400 and 1850.

Black Drama, now in its expanded third edition, contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.

British Theatre, Music, and Literature features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the long nineteenth century, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores.

Contains annotated scholarly editions of works published by Oxford University Press in selected areas of English literature, poetry and drama.

Presenting the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, this digital collection offers students and researchers of the Romantic period unique access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey.

Full text of key editions of the works of Shakespeare, from the First Folio to the nineteenth century. Important adaptations, sequels, and burlesques are also featured.

Shakespeare in Performance showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare's plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States, and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.

BoB is an off-air recording and media archive service which stores recorded TV and Radio programmes in an archive indefinitely.

This is the new home for the BBC Shakespeare Archive Resource. Play over 900 programmes from the BBC’s archive of Shakespeare’s plays, poems and sonnets. Please register for access to the Archive. The Archive is only accessible to users based in the UK.

An International Database of Shakespeare on Film, Television and Radio. This authoritative online database of Shakespeare-related content in film, television, radio and video recordings is international in scope and holds over 6,500 records dating from the 1890s to the present day.