Skip to Main Content

Economics

Ebooks


You can find many individual eBook titles by searching in FindIt@Bham.   To restrict your search: select 'eBooks and eJournals from the drop-down menu, or refine your search results by eBooks from the menu on the right-hand menu. See  Using FindIt for more information. You can also search ebook collections.

You can print and copy from ebooks but the same restrictions apply as for print books. Individuals are permitted to print up to one chapter or 5% under the University's copyright licences signed with publisher organisations.

eBooks are different however in that they may be subject to Digital Rights Management (DRM) controls. DRM technology allows publishers to control and manage the usage of their eBooks, for example they can restrict the number of concurrent users and limit the number of pages a user can copy, print or download. As we purchase our eBooks from a variety of sources DRM will vary between each provider. Any restrictions to DRM are imposed by the eBook provider and not the Library. Once these restrictions have been met the provider will prevent you from printing or copying any further text.

See our copyright pages for further information.

Finding journal articles: simple search

The 'Using FindIt@Bham to search for journal articles' video tutorial outlines how to search for journal articles effectively:

The easiest way of finding journal articles in FindIt@Bham is to enter your search terms into the simple search bar and select the Articles button below the search box. You can leave the dropdown options set to Everywhere and Everything. If you are using the Dubai version of FindIt@Bham, leave the dropdown options set to Dubai Campus and Everything (Dubai).

For example, to search for articles on the phenomenon of 'code switching' in the speech of bilingual children:

This will search through a large number of electronic full-text collections of academic journals which we subscribe to. It is a powerful search which extends over all subject areas, so you can be quite specific and detailed in your search terms. You should combine your search terms with Boolean operators (AND/OR) and make use of search techniques to make your search as precise as possible:

  • AND e.g. Weber AND capitalism. This will search for all records which contain both these terms.
  • OR e.g. speech OR communication. This will search for records containing either of these terms. An OR search will find more hits than an AND search. It is useful if your terms are synonyms or if they refer to similar concepts.
  • PHRASE SEARCHING e.g. “group dynamics”. This will find only those records where these terms are found together, and will not find the words in any other contexts. In most databases, phrases can be indicated by double quotation marks around them.
  • BRACKETS e.g. dyslexia AND (diagnosis OR assessment). Brackets can be used to combine any of the operators above. This will find records containing ‘dyslexia’ as well as either ‘diagnosis’ or ‘assessment’.
  • TRUNCATION e.g. sociolog*. This will find any records which have words beginning with this root: sociology, sociological, sociologist, etc. Truncation is indicated by an asterisk (*).

[N.B. The operators AND and OR need to be typed in capitals]

Select the search button   , and a list of results will be generated, the most relevant being listed first:

Each result will also display a number of options to access the full text of the article:

  • View Full Text will link you through to a list of the platforms where full-text is hosted. Selecting one of these platforms will link you through to where the full-text content is hosted.
  • View Article PDF or Read Article will link you either directly to the full PDF or to the full-text of the article on the publisher's platform. This won't appear for every result, but where it does it will reduce the number of links that need to be followed before full-text is reached.
  • Browse Issue Contents will link you through to the full issue of the journal in which the article has been published. This can be useful for checking to see if there are other articles published in the same issue that are applicable to the topic you are researching.

If your search produces too many results, use the Tweak my Results column appearing on the left to narrow down your results. This column contains filters such as:

  • Date of publication; 
  • Subject;
  • The journal or collection it was published in.

Watch the 'Improve your FindIt@Bham results using filters' video to learn more about this functionality:

Subjects: Economics
Accessibility statement