LibGuides: Criminology: Specialist resources

Specialist resources for Criminology

Here, and under the adjacent tabs, are some specialist databases in areas which may be of relevance to aspects of Criminology:

PsycINFO
An index to the professional and academic literature on psychology and related disciplines including sociology and education from 1806 to the present. PsycInfo covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, pharmacology, physiology and linguistics.
EBSCO Education Databases
The main resource for finding articles in all aspects of education This is a platform consisting of five major education databases including British Education Index (BEI) and Education Abstracts.
Nexis
Text of newspapers from across the world as well as UK national and local newspapers; Company information and reports. Information regarding a particular country can also be found in this database, as well as a biographical directory of people in the fields of business and commerce.

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd edition) - Elsevier
Major reference work.
SAGE Knowledge
SAGE Knowledge is home to an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content including reference works, academic books, professional development titles and more.
The LexisNexis Legal Glossary
The use of language in UK law is often changing, and there are also a lot of legal specific terms that you’ll need to know. The LexisNexis Legal Glossary index provides a comprehensive reference point for the more complex terms in the industry.

Public Information Online
Includes Command Papers, House of Commons Papers, House of Lords Papers, Bills of both Houses, Explanatory Notes and Public Bill/Standing Committee Debates. Begins with 2006/07 session and updated daily.
UK Parliamentary Papers
Contains searchable full text of House of Commons Papers, Command Papers, Bills, Reports of Committees and Commissioners. Use this or Lawtel, BOPCRIS, or UKOP.
UKOP (UK Official Publications)
This does not have full text, but is a useful source for tracing details of official publication from sources other than the House of Commons.
GOV.UK
Website providing access to UK government services and information for the general public. Access is arranged by topic, by current government activity and by ministerial department. Links to over 400 other agencies and public bodies are listed.
Office for National Statistics
The UK's largest independent producer of official statistics and the recognised national statistical institute of the UK.
UK Data Service
Official statistical data, both UK and International including IMF and OECD.
Europa
Portal of the European Union with access to Web sites of EU institutions and large numbers of EU publications.

Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
BoB is an off-air recording and media archive service which stores recorded TV and Radio programmes in an archive indefinitely.
Society Digimap
Society Digimap provides a wealth of census and socio-economic data for Great Britain, allowing users can access the rich information to gain valuable insights for their areas of interest without the need to learn how to use a GIS.
Mass Observation Online
Archive of the Mass Observation project which recorded everyday life in Britain in the 1930s and 1940s.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020
American Prison Newspapers brings together hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the past 200 years. When complete, the collection will contain newspapers from prisons in every state, representing penal institutions of all kinds, including women-only institutions.