Skip to main content

Streaming Audio Visual Resources: Home

Guide to Streaming Video and Music Resources at University of Birmingham

Welcome

This guide contains links to a variety of major subscription Audio Visual resources and free websites.

Please see  look also at the relevant Subject Guides for details of more subject specific AV resources for your area and see AV material - films, documentaries and music for more information on where physical items  such as DVDs can be found in the Library.

Streaming Resources

Websites

British Council Film Collection
A digitised and downloadable collection of short documentary films made by the British Council during the 1940s.

British Film Institute
This site offers a wealth of information and resources about British film and TV.  Also available is online access to the catalogue of one of the world's largest research collections of materials on British (and international) cinema, and television

Filmarchives online
Gateway to film archives from all over Europe, focusing on non-fiction film.

Luxonline
Dedicated website on British video and film art containing an archive of works by film and video artists, including synopses, artist biographies, stills and streamed clips, in-depth features and essays on different artists who work with film and video.

PLAT
Access to over 150 Spanish films online;

Scottish Screen Archive
Scotland's national moving images collection. Over 1000 film clips and full films are available on the site along with a catalogue detailing all of the films available from Scottish Screen.

BBC Archive 
Publicly available archive of selected highlights from the BBC over the last 75 years.

Imperial War Museum Archive
IWM has managed a Film Archive from its very beginnings as an institution, and the film collection now covers all aspects of conflicts in which British, Commonwealth or former Empire countries have been involved since the start of the twentieth century.

National Film Preservation Foundation
The National Film Preservation Foundation is the nonprofit organization created by the U.S. Congress to help save America's film heritage. We support activities nationwide that preserve American films and improve film access for study, education, and exhibition.

British Universities Film & Video Council
British Universities Film & Video Council gateway containing over 1,550 websites relating to moving image and sound materials, arranged by subject area.

British Library Archival Sound Recordings
Recordings of classical, jazz, popular, ethnic and world music

Accessibility statement