LibGuides: Information Literacy Skills Support for Dubai Students: Education

More resources

Campbell Library - The Campbell Collaboration Library of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Database of systematic reviews of literature in various areas of social policy and education.
EBSCO Education Databases This link opens in a new window The main resource for finding articles in all aspects of education This is a platform consisting of five major education databases including British Education Index (BEI) and Education Abstracts.
Educational Research Abstracts Online This link opens in a new window A database of selected high-quality abstracts covering key areas of international research in education from 1995 to the present
ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window Cross-searchable collection of 19 databases indexing sociology, the applied social sciences, linguistics, politics, physical education, criminal justice and Islamic studies, as well as British and American theses in these subjects.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window An index to the professional and academic literature on psychology and related disciplines including sociology and education from 1806 to the present. PsycInfo covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, pharmacology, physiology and linguistics. Search hints: ISBNs are not searchable. An author search for 'Peters, Mike' will not pick up 'Peters, Mike K'. To include all possible middle initials in your results, search on 'Peters, Mike?'

Primary source databases will help you find technical papers, standards codes of practice and technical data.

National Autistic Society This link opens in a new window The National Autistic Society is a UK charity for people on the autism spectrum and their families. This website provides support, guidance and advice, as well as campaigning for improved rights, services and opportunities to help create a society that works for autistic people.
Nexis Advance UK Text of newspapers from across the world as well as UK national and local newspapers; Company information and reports. Information regarding a particular country can also be found in this database, as well as bibliographies on a range of people.
Education in Video This link opens in a new window A growing collection of videos of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries and examples of classroom practice.

There is a huge range of information on the Internet, but you need to be vigilant about the quality of what you find. Using subject gateways and sites which are created by subject specialists will ensure that you find information that has been evaluated for its academic quality. Useful quality websites that are relevant to Education include:

Centre for Studies on Inclusive Education
An independent centre working in the UK and overseas promoting educational inclusion.
NASEN
Formerly the National Association for Special Educational needs, NASEN promotes the education, training, advancement and development of those with special and additional support needs.
National Autistic Society
Ofsted (Office for Standards in Education)
UK Government body

Websites

Useful websites that are relevant to the School of Sport, Exercise and Rehabilitation Sciences include:

Chartered Society of Physiotherapy: access to practice guidelines, factsheets and policy documents for members
Evidence Search (NICE - Evidence in Health and Social Care). An NHS site with a wealth of resources, including NICE guidelines. An excellent resource to find information on health problems, information which focuses on specific patient groups and aspects of health services. Extra NHS resources are available to students who have an NHS Athens username and password
Sports Science: A peer reviewed journal and site for sport research
Wellcome Library: Find thousands of freely licensed digital books, artworks, photos and images of historical library materials and museum objects. Valuable for medical, health and life sciences

Databases

PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database This link opens in a new window PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. It has been developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality to help you quickly discriminate between trials which are likely to be valid and interpretable and those which are not.
Nursing and Allied Health (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, evidence-based resources, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Sport Discus (Abstracts) This link opens in a new window Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.
Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window This database allows all researchers and professionals in the field to acquire accurate and scholarly information. These abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Health education and physical therapy are also covered.
CINAHL Plus This link opens in a new window CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 4,175 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with coverage dating as far back as 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Searchable cited references for more than 1,300 journals are also included. Full-text material includes journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Produced by the National Library of Medicine in the USA, the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. Please note that NLM data is also available via PubMed.

eBooks

You can find many individual eBook titles by searching in FindIt@BhamDubai. To restrict your search:

select 'eBooks and eJournals from the drop-down menu, or
refine your search results by eBooks from the menu on the left-hand menu

The following are general collection of ebooks which cover many disciplines:

EBSCO ebook collection This link opens in a new window

It is important to remember that whenever you are accessing ebooks you need to use the sign in link at the top right of FindIt@BhamDubai to enter your University username and password to ensure that you get full access to all the resources. This proves to the suppliers of theses resources that you are entitled to use them.

Yes, you can, but the same restrictions apply for eBooks as they do for print books. Individuals are permitted to print up to one chapter or 5% under the University's copyright licences signed with publisher organisations.

eBooks are different however in that they may be subject to Digital Rights Management (DRM) controls. DRM technology allows publishers to control and manage the usage of their eBooks, for example they can restrict the number of concurrent users and limit the number of pages a user can copy, print or download. As we purchase our eBooks from a variety of sources DRM will vary between each provider. Any restrictions to DRM are imposed by the eBook provider and not the Library. Once these restrictions have been met the provider will prevent you from printing or copying any further text.

See our copyright pages for further information.

There are a number of ebooks and ebook packages available which will be of interest to Business students. Below is a list of a few of them. To find more ebook collections for your area of study use the Databases option in FindIt@BhamDubai and filter your search by 'type'.

EBSCO ebook collection This link opens in a new window

Information Literacy Skills Support for Dubai Students: Education

Welcome

Getting started

More resources

Websites

Databases

eBooks