Welcome to the Engineering Subject Pages for Dubai Students
This page brings together key resources for the students of Engineering.
Here are a few important resources to help you on your way:
Click here for more in depth information on how to search key engineering databases effectively.
Click here for more in depth information on how to search key engineering databases effectively.
Primary source databases will help you find technical papers, standards codes of practice and technical data.
There is a huge range of information on the Internet, but you need to be vigilant about the quality of what you find. Using subject gateways and sites which are created by subject specialists will ensure that you find information that has been evaluated for its academic quality. Useful websites that are relevant to Mechanical Engineering include:
The following ebooks are also relevant to the School of Mechanical Engineering:
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials by
Since its inception in the early 1950's, this book has become the number one resource for those who need to evaluate the hazard of substances used in commerce. Now in its eleventh edition, it contains extensive data on approximately 26,000 substances, including 2000 new entries. The three-volume set now includes Immediately Dangerous Life or Health (IDHL) levels for approximately 1000 chemicals, proving essential for designing adequate ventilation systems and selection of respiratory protection. Other highlights include: A special appendix containing information of nerve gases and biological agents that might appear in the workplace as a result of terrorist activity It is the only reference that combines, for so many substances, data on toxicological, fire, reactivity, explosive potential, and regulatory information Regulatory data covers exposure level classifications for a number of regulatory agencies, from OSHA to the U.S. Department of Transportation Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials, Eleventh Edition provides an essential, up-to-date resource for professionals in industrial hygiene, safety, emergency response, law, and policymaking.
Comprehensive Structural Integrity by
The aim of this major reference work is to provide a first point of entry to the literature for the researchers in any field relating to structural integrity in the form of a definitive research/reference tool which links the various sub-disciplines that comprise the whole of structural integrity. Special emphasis will be given to the interaction between mechanics and materials and structural integrity applications. Because of the interdisciplinary and applied nature of the work, it will be of interest to mechanical engineers and materials scientists from both academic and industrial backgrounds including bioengineering, interface engineering and nanotechnology. The scope of this work encompasses, but is not restricted to: fracture mechanics, fatigue, creep, materials, dynamics, environmental degradation, numerical methods, failure mechanisms and damage mechanics, interfacial fracture and nano-technology, structural analysis, surface behaviour and heart valves. The structures under consideration include: pressure vessels and piping, off-shore structures, gas installations and pipelines, chemical plants, aircraft, railways, bridges, plates and shells, electronic circuits, interfaces, nanotechnology, artificial organs, biomaterial prostheses, cast structures, mining... and more. Case studies will form an integral part of the work.
The following databases will help you find journal articles, conference papers and technical papers
Click here for more in depth information on how to search key engineering databases effectively.
Primary source databases will help you find technical papers, standards codes of practice and technical data.
Websites
There is a huge range of information on the Internet, but you need to be vigilant about the quality of what you find. Using subject gateways and sites which are created by subject specialists will ensure that you find information that has been evaluated for its academic quality. Useful quality websites that are relevant to Electrical Engineering include:
Click here for more in depth information on how to search key engineering databases effectively
Primary source databases will help you find technical papers, standards codes of practice and technical data.
There is a huge range of information on the Internet, but you need to be vigilant about the quality of what you find. Using subject gateways and sites which are created by subject specialists will ensure that you find information that has been evaluated for its academic quality. Useful quality websites that are relevant to Computer Engineering include:
The following databases will help you find journal articles, conference papers and technical papers
Click here for more in depth information on how to search key engineering databases effectively
Primary source databases will help you find technical papers, standards codes of practice and technical data.
There is a huge range of information on the Internet, but you need to be vigilant about the quality of what you find. Using subject gateways and sites which are created by subject specialists will ensure that you find information that has been evaluated for its academic quality. Useful quality websites that are relevant to Mathematics include:
The following databases will help you find journal articles, conference papers and technical papers
Click here for more in depth information on how to search key engineering databases effectively.
Primary source databases will help you find technical papers, standards codes of practice and technical data.
There is a huge range of information on the Internet, but you need to be vigilant about the quality of what you find. Using subject gateways and sites which are created by subject specialists will ensure that you find information that has been evaluated for its academic quality. Useful quality websites that are relevant to Physics include:
You can find many individual eBook titles by searching in FindIt@Dubai. To restrict your search:
The following are general collection of ebooks which cover many disciplines:
It is important to remember that whenever you are accessing ebooks you need to ise the sign in link at the top right of FindIt@Dubai to enter your University username and password to ensure that you get full access to all the resources. This proves to the suppliers of theses resources that you are entitled to use them.
Yes, you can, but the same restrictions apply for eBooks as they do for print books. Individuals are permitted to print up to one chapter or 5% under the University's copyright licences signed with publisher organisations.
eBooks are different however in that they may be subject to Digital Rights Management (DRM) controls. DRM technology allows publishers to control and manage the usage of their eBooks, for example they can restrict the number of concurrent users and limit the number of pages a user can copy, print or download. As we purchase our eBooks from a variety of sources DRM will vary between each provider. Any restrictions to DRM are imposed by the eBook provider and not the Library. Once these restrictions have been met the provider will prevent you from printing or copying any further text.
See our copyright pages for further information.
There are a number of ebooks and ebook packages available which will be of interest to Mechanical Engineering. Here are just a few of them. To find more ebook collections for your area of study use the Databases option in FindIt@Dubai and filter your search by 'type'.