Shakespeare and Renaissance Literature

• Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive
  A  collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata provided by scholars and educators in the field. 

• RSC Live (Drama Online)
  In 2013 the company began live screenings of its Shakespeare productions, captured in The RSC Live Collection.
• Shakespeare Audio Ashland: Arkangel,‎ 2003 (ProQuest One Literature)
  You can access audio recordings of Shakespeare's plays via ProQuest One Literature (scroll down to the link at the bottom left-hand side of the homepage). These productions by the company Arkangel were recorded in 2003.
• Shakespeare’s Globe on Screen (Drama Online)
  Shakespeare's Globe on Screen (2008-2018) includes landmark productions from the last ten year’s, including productions from Emma Rice’s tenure as Artistic Director and the first production from the indoor Jacobean theatre, the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse. These films showcase the Globe’s two unique playing spaces on Bankside and how different artists respond to them.
• Theatre Voice
  The web’s leading audio resource for British Theatre. An invaluable collection of interviews and discussions with theatre practitioners on all aspects of British theatre.

The following series are all available in Box of Broadcasts (BoB)

• The Hollow Crown (Also available via Drama Online ) 
• BBC Shakespeare Series:  
• An Age of Kings: Fifteen-part televised series of Shakespeare's history plays from Richard II to Richard III (the two tetralogies). Broadcast on the BBC in 1960 
• The Wars of the Roses:  Three parts of Henry VI and Richard III encompassing the period from the loss of the British Empire in France to the founding of the Tudor dynasty. Originally a Royal Shakespeare Company production directed by Peter Hall and John Barton, the four plays were condensed into three screenplays: Henry VI, Edward IV and Richard III 
• The Spread of the Eagle: 1963 nine part series based on Shakespeare's Roman plays 

You can also find BBC broadcasts of RSC and National Theatre productions including Greg Doran’s Hamlet, RSC 2010 (starring David Tennant), Trevor Nunn’s Merchant of Venice, NT 2001 (starring Henry Goodman), etc. You’ll also find many documentaries and special broadcasts.

For example, searching Macbeth, results include the following varied content:

• Kurosawa’s Throne of Blood (1957)
• Penny Woolcock’s stunning adaptation Macbeth on the Estate (1997)
• Rupert Goold’s Macbeth for Chichester Festival Theatre (2012)
• Berkoff’s Macbeth (1995) BBC Radio 4: debut of David Benedictus’s innovative version of the tragedy
• Ethan Hawke on Macbeth: documentary on the actor’s discovery of the play.

Read more about BoB in the Streaming Services section or link to our Guide.

• DVD Collections: The Shakespeare Institute Library and Main Library holds collections of loanable and reference DVDs which can be located on FindIt.
• Russell Jackson Archive: (textual advisor on various Shakespeare film productions, including the substantial output of Kenneth Branagh, incl.Hamlet, Much Ado About Nothing,Love's Labour's Lost, As You Like It, and Othello (directed by Oliver Parker).

• Renaissance Films PLC archive: (Kenneth Branagh's Henry V and In the Bleak Midwinter)
• Unpublished Shakespeare Film Script collection: (collection includes various film scripts never published including Peter Brook's King Lear, Zeffirelli's Taming of the Shrew, Baz Luhrmann's Romeo + Juliet, 
• Newscuttings Collection: reviews, interviews with actors and directors, features on the 'making-of' and landmark productions, etc.
• World Shakespeare Bibliography: bibliographical listings of articles, reviews, production details, critical analysis, dissertations, etc. Log in through FindIt.