LibGuides: American and Canadian Studies: Primary Sources

Why use Primary Sources

Primary sources are original documents dating from the period being studied. Some primary sources tell a personal story, for example, eyewitness accounts written at the time of an event or written shortly afterwards. Others are official documents such as legislation and regulations. using primary sources can add an extra dimension to your essays. See more about how to understand and use them with our Guide to Historical Primary Sources.

Image: Brown paper and black pen by Joanna Kosinska on Unsplash

Digitised primary sources

Digital National Security Archive.
Declassified U.S. government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events from 1945 to the present
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of previously classified material from the American government dating from the years immediately following WWII onwards, and incorporating nearly every major foreign and domestic event of recent history: the Vietnam War, the Cold War, the Civil Rights Movement and many others.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery Part 1 & 2
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century. The full archive is made up of 4 parts. Please note University of Birmingham only has access to Parts 1 and 2.
Wilson anti-slavery collection.
Anti-slavery pamphlets from 1761 until 1900.
J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America (Adam Matthew)
This resource provides access to primary materials from 1900-2000 of one of the leading advertising agencies in America, which led the advertising campaigns for world brands such as Kellogg's and Kraft.
Materials in the collection range from minutes of staff meetings, market research reports, client briefs and the final advertisements. The materials allow an insight into how a creative team works and makes decisions and how advertising influences the development of television.

Sound archives

Music Smithsonian Global Sound (Alexander Street, a ProQuest Company)
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.

Cadbury Research Library

Housed in the Muirhead Tower at the University of Birmingham, The Cadbury Research Library contains rare books and manuscripts, including the Church Missionary Society Archives which are particularly useful for African Studies.

See also the Black History resource guide which details archives and rare books held at the Cadbury Research Library.