LibGuides: Dentistry and Dental Hygiene: Journals

Journals

Journals are also known as periodicals. They are an important resource because they:

are published on a regular basis
contain the most up to date scholarly research in their subject
tend to be shorter and discuss the subject in more detail than books

Some examples: Lancet; Nature; Journal of Black Studies; Art History; Journal of World Literature.

Don't rely solely on Google or even Google Scholar for your research! Findit@Bham is a good place to start looking for good quality journal articles, but it is more efficient if you use one of the bibliographic databases available in your subject. These will find relevant journal articles and sometimes also books, reports, working papers and conference proceedings.

Some databases will give direct full-text access to the articles. Others will provide an index and abstract (a short summary) of the article.

If the full text is not available in the database, there will be a link to check if we have the full text available from elsewhere.

Below are links to some of the main databases in the Dental subject area.

Recommended Databases for Subject Name Here

CINAHL Plus This link opens in a new window CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 4,175 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with coverage dating as far back as 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Searchable cited references for more than 1,300 journals are also included. Full-text material includes journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
EMBASE: Excerpta Medica (OVID) This link opens in a new window EMBASE, the Excerpta Medica database, produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. EMBASE is one of the most widely used biomedical and pharmaceutical databases because of its currency and in-depth indexing. Frequent updates allow access to the latest medical and pharmacological trends. Approximately 375,000 records are added yearly.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Produced by the National Library of Medicine in the USA, the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. Please note that NLM data is also available via PubMed.
Nursing and Allied Health (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, evidence-based resources, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window An index to the professional and academic literature on psychology and related disciplines including sociology and education from 1806 to the present. PsycInfo covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, pharmacology, physiology and linguistics. Search hints: ISBNs are not searchable. An author search for 'Peters, Mike' will not pick up 'Peters, Mike K'. To include all possible middle initials in your results, search on 'Peters, Mike?'
Science Citation Index Expanded This link opens in a new window The Science Citation Index is one of four databases that make up the Web of Science, which is accessible via the ISI Web of Knowledge. Restricting your search to the Science Citation Index will 3 give broad coverage of Science and Engineering. A key feature is the ability to search by citation, that is, to search for articles that have cited a key article since its publication. The database indexes material from 1900 onwards, although the older records do not have abstracts.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Large abstract and citation database providing access to 19,000 titles from a wide range of international publishers. It contains peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources.

Resource links may open in new browser tab or window.

Nexis This link opens in a new window Text of newspapers from across the world as well as UK national and local newspapers; Company information and reports. Information regarding a particular country can also be found in this database, as well as a biographical directory of people in the fields of business and commerce.

See our online guide to Finding Statistics for more information.

Sections of particular interest for Dentistry may include:

Finding databases

Libraries and Learning Resources subscribe to a vast array of electronic resources of relevance to all subjects. These include, but are not limited to:

bibliographic databases;
historical sources;
original texts;
newspapers;
statistics;
multi-media resources.

The 'Using FindIt@Bham to search for databases' video tutorial outlines how to search for databases relevant to you:

If you know the name of the database you wish to access, enter the name of it into the search bar and select the Databases button underneath the search bar. For example, to search for the database Medline:

Alternatively, you can use FindIt@Bham to explore the databases we have available by clicking on the Database A-Z tab at the top of the screen.

To explore the databases relevant to your subject area, select a subject from the Resource Subject filter on the left-hand side.

If you are looking for a specific type of resource, for example Newspapers, use the Resource Type filter on the left-hand side.

Access to databases

Once you select a database, it will show you the catalogue record and description of it. Read this description carefully the first time you use it as it may include specific information on how to access it using a special password, or the need to register with the provider to gain access.