The University subscribes to two major image collections. The images in these collections are licensed for use in teaching, essays and seminars.
The following freely available websites are also recommended:
Images websites
- Art and Architecture Index
Maintained by the Courtauld Institute of Art
- Arts On Film Archive
Films on art produced in the United Kingdom since the 1950s
- British Cartoon Archive
The British Cartoon Archive (BCA) based at the University of Kent is dedicated to the history of British cartooning over the last two hundred years.
- British Museum Images
One of the most comprehensive collections of prints and drawings in world culture and history.
- Digital Bodleian
Discover over a million images of rare books, manuscripts, and other treasures from the Bodleian Libraries and Oxford college libraries.
- Paul Mellon Photograph Archive of British Art and Architecture
Over 100,000 images of British art and architecture.
- Wellcome Collection images
mages from the Wellcome Trust's collections covering history of science and medicine and social history including Sanscrit manuscripts, Buddhist paintings and Persian books.
- UK Exhibitions by Women
A database maintained by the UK Friends of the National Museum of Women in the Arts.
- York Islamic Art and Architecture Database
Here is a comprehensive resource list with links to a huge number of open source online images and texts related to the study of Islamic art and architecture, put together by Richard McClary in the History of Art Department at the University of York.
Image sharing websites
