LibGuides: Physics and Astronomy: Books and ebooks

Ebooks

You can find many individual eBook titles by searching in FindIt@Bham. To restrict your search: select 'eBooks and eJournals from the drop-down menu, or refine your search results by eBooks from the menu on the right-hand menu. See Using FindIt for more information. You can also search ebook collections.

You can print and copy from ebooks but the same restrictions apply as for print books. Individuals are permitted to print up to one chapter or 5% under the University's copyright licences signed with publisher organisations.

eBooks are different however in that they may be subject to Digital Rights Management (DRM) controls. DRM technology allows publishers to control and manage the usage of their eBooks, for example they can restrict the number of concurrent users and limit the number of pages a user can copy, print or download. As we purchase our eBooks from a variety of sources DRM will vary between each provider. Any restrictions to DRM are imposed by the eBook provider and not the Library. Once these restrictions have been met the provider will prevent you from printing or copying any further text.

See our copyright pages for further information.

Cambridge Books - Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window Cambridge University Press publishes a wide range of research monographs, academic reference, textbooks, books for professionals, and large numbers of books aimed at graduate students.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Major ebook collection
EBSCO ebook collection This link opens in a new window Major ebook collection
ScienceDirect eBooks This link opens in a new window Libraries and Learning Resources has unlimited online access to over 8,200 ScienceDirect eBooks with coverage across 26 subject areas and seamless integration with the journals our institution subscribes to on SciVerse ScienceDirect. Access to the ejournals and ebooks we subscribe to is indicated by the green key icon next to the particular title. ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Very Short Introductions (Oxford University Press) This link opens in a new window Launched by Oxford University Press in 1995, Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory.
World Scientific eBooks This link opens in a new window Over 3000 ebooks and conferences in the fields of science and engineering. For more information: http://ebooks.worldscinet.com/index.html

CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics This link opens in a new window Online version of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics which is often known as the Rubber handbook. It is a definitive reference source and includes sections on Basic constants; units and conversion factors; symbols; terminology and nomenclature; physical constants of organic compounds; molecular structure and spectroscopy; atomic, molecular and optical physics, nuclear and particle physics, geophysics, astronomy and acoustics, practical lab data; health and safety information and mathematical tables
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics This is the online version of the Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed. IP & Shibboleth authenticated resource
KNOVEL This link opens in a new window Knovel provides a one-stop source for finding answers to science and engineering questions. It provides the analytical tools to enable you to analyse and manipulate the data given. For access to 'SAX's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials' please search for it separately on FindIt@Bham

Finding books: simple search

To find printed books, ebooks, print journals, online articles, DVDs and videos in your subject, go to FindIt@Bham and use either the Simple or the Advanced Search. Search by:

author;
title;
keyword;
classmark.

The 'Using FindIt@Bham to search for books' video tutorial outlines how to search for books effectively:

There are two ways of finding books on FindIt@Bham:

If you know the author and title (or at least parts of the title), you can type these into the simple search box – e.g. human resource management beardwell.
If you are looking for books on a particular subject, you can type in keywords which describe it – e.g. mathematics teaching.

In both cases, if you are only interested in books, we recommend selecting Library Catalogue from the second drop-down menu next to the search box and select the Search button :

This search finds both printed and electronic books. You can use the buttons below the search box to refine the results further. If you are interested in only print books, select the Print Books button. If you are interested in only electronic books, select the eBooks button. For example, to look up whether Human Resource Management (edited by Julie Beardwell and Amanda Thompson) is available in print, you would select the Print Books button: