Skip to main content

Newspapers: British Newspapers

General Newspapers Databases

Newspaper articles can be searched for by using certain indexing databases, for example:

  • Some databases such as 19th Century British Library newspapers specialize in historic newspapers
  • Some general databases such as  Humanities Index regularly index newspaper as well as journal articles
  • Some databases such as Nexis specialize in up to date newspaper articles.

Nexis UK  is primarily a business and legal information database, but one of its major features is a substantial corpus of full-text British, European and US newspapers. From the Sources drop-down menu on the search screen you can select specific categories of newspapers such as UK national or regional newspapers.  The More Sources link allows you to select newspapers in specific languages or individual newspaper titles to search. Nexis UK currently has newspapers in Danish, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish (including South American).The full text files of most newspapers go back over the last 10-20 years.

British Library

The British Library holds extensive collections of newspapers including all the UK daily and Sunday newspapers from 1801 to the present, most UK and Irish provincial newspapers and selected newspapers in European languages from around the world..  You will need to register for a reader pass to use their collections.

Joining the British Library
www.bl.uk/help/how-to-get-a-reader-pass

British Library - News Media
www.bl.uk/subjects/news-media

Historical newspapers

See the Historical Newspapers tab for digitised collections of newspapers or archival content from individual papers such as the The Times.

British Newspapers

The following links take you to the websites for these newspapers. Most will have some articles available to read for free but other articles may have to be paid for. Many will also be available from NexisUK.

Belfast telegraph

The Daily Record and Sunday Mail

The Financial Times

The Guardian

The Independent

Irish Independent

The Irish News

The Irish Times

The Scotsman

The Telegraph

The Times and Sunday Times

The Times Educational Supplement (TES)

The Times Higher Education Supplement

Pick up a paper

Main Library

The following daily papers can be found in the Library Lounge on the ground floor of the Main Library: Daily Telegraph, Saturday Telegraph, Sunday Telegraph , Times Financial The Times, Sunday Times, The Guardian, The Observer,  Times Higher Education

 A larger range of papers are kept on the Third Floor with older copies as microfilms.

Orchard Learning Resource Centre (OLRC)

The OLRC subscribes to The Times and The Guardian on a daily weekday basis along with The Birmingham Post on Thursdays only. Current issues are displayed near the Lending Desk.  The Times Educational Supplement arrives weekly, and is shelved amongst the journals on the first floor under S.370 TIM.  They are kept for three months before being discarded.