LibGuides: Finding Newspapers: European and International Newspapers

Online and Digital Archives

Neues Deutschland Archiv
Archiv access is 01/01/1946 - 12/31/1990
Login password required : https://secure-libapps-bham-ac-uk.ezproxye.bham.ac.uk/eJournals/
La Repubblica
Searchable archive of La Repubblica newspaper, as well as several local Italian newspapers, from 1984 to the present
Pravda Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains over 90 years of full-text issues of this Soviet and Post-Soviet Russian newspaper.
Izvestiia Digital Archive (DA-IZV) (EastView).
Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia was founded in March 1917
Russian Central Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The Universal Database of Russian Newspapers (UDB-COM) provides comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia. Official sources (Rossiiskaia gazeta, Krasnaia zvezda, ITAR-TASS), independent media and partisan publications are all represented on this database, thus offering a wide array of opinions and perspectives. Several English-language newspapers including the notable Moscow Times, widely read by the international community in the Russian capital, constitute an important part of the database.
African Newspapers: The British Library Collection
African Newspapers: The British Library Collection features nearly 60 newspapers from throughout Africa, all published before1901.
World Newspaper Archive: Africa 1800 1922 This link opens in a new window
More than forty historical African newspapers, searchable online.
Nexis This link opens in a new window
Text of newspapers from across the world as well as UK national and local newspapers; Company information and reports. Information regarding a particular country can also be found in this database, as well as a biographical directory of people in the fields of business and commerce.

Chinese newspaper archives: People' Daily (1946-present); Global Times (1993-present); China Headlines (2008-present).

Print copies

We hold recent print copies of the following newspapers on the 3rd floor of the Main Library:

We also have a large collection of hard copy Eastern European newspapers including:

Gazeta wyborcza 1990-2014 Research Reserve
Krasnaya Zvezda 1967-1980; 1991-2001 Research Reserve
Nezavisimaya Gazeta 1991-2006 Research Reserve
Parlamentskaya Gazeta 1999- Main Library 3rd Floor ffJN 6613.A1P2 and older issues in Research Reserve
Pravda 1936; 1938-1939; 1941-2001 Research Reserve and online via EastView Russian Central Newspapers
Rossiiskaya Gazeta 1992-2006 Research Reserve
Rzeczpospolita 1997-2010 Research Reserve
Trud microfilm 1928-1944; 1980-1990 Research Reserve