Skip to main content

Gender and Sexual Diversity: Welcome

Guide to library and information sources in gender and sexual diversity

Introduction

Welcome to the Gender and Sexual Diversity Subject Pages

This page brings together key resources for the students of gender and sexual diversity

use the tabs above to help you find books, ebooks, articles, journals and more

Ellis, Havelock Psychology of Sex (1933)   Cadbury Research Library, Havelock Ellis Collection HQ21.E44

 

Students at the University of Birmingham

Image supplied by Cadbury Research Library, ref: UB/HUH/A/8/5/1

 

Social Media

Getting Started

Here are a few important resources to help you on your way:

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Encyclopedia of gender and society
Sage, 2009
Online access

Encyclopedia of gender in media
Sage, 2012
Online access

The gay & lesbian theatrical legacy : a biographical dictionary of major figures in American stage history in the pre-Stonewall era / edited by Billy J. Harbin, Kim Marra, and Robert A. Schanke.
University of Michigan Press, 2005
OLRC Selly Oak  792.0922 GAY

Gay histories and cultures : an encyclopedia / George E. Haggerty, editor
Garland, 2000
Main Library  Reference  HQ76 G

Handbook of gender and women's studies
Sage, 2006
Online access

Handbook of gender, work, and organization 
Wiley, 2011
Online access

Lesbian histories and cultures : an encyclopedia / Bonnie Zimmerman, editor.
Garland, 2000
Main Library  Reference  HQ76 L and  Online access

The Oxford encyclopedia of the Bible and gender studies / Julia M. O'Brien, editor in chief.
Oxford University Press, 2014
Main Library    BS680.W7 O94

The Oxford handbook of Shakespeare and embodiment : gender, sexuality, and race / edited by Valerie Traub.
Oxford University Press, 2016
Shakespeare Institute Library  PR2991