Skip to Main Content

Medline and Endnote Online: basics

Introduction

This guide will take you through the basics of using Medline (Ovid) and Endnote Online.

It covers planning and carrying out a literature search for journal articles on the database Medline, then storing results on Endnote Online for citing in documents.

Medline is the key database in the field of Medicine and Biomedical Science, which indexes articles from a wide range of relevant academic and related journals and links to full-text of articles where these are subscribed by the University or available as Open Access. 

The Ovid Platform (supplied by LWW Wolters Kluwer) make Medline available to the University along with Embase and Psycinfo (pharmacology and psychiatry / psychology emphases respectively).

From Autumn Term 2021-22, Endnote Online is recommended for students on taught courses at undergraduate or postgraduate level at the University of Birmingham. Endnote Online is reference management software enabling storage of journal article and other references, and their subsequent citation in Word documents.

Material includes:

  • Part 1: Planning a search
  • Part 2: Database searching on Medline - including sample searches in video and text form
  • Part 3: Endnote Online - set up an account, export results from Medline, cite results in your work

Each Part includes a practical activity to reinforce what you have learnt.

The following also relate to literature searching:

 

Acknowledgements

Some of the material on Endnote Online in this guide has been adapted with kind permission, from the Strathclyde University EndNote Online Libguide (in turn acknowledging Newcastle University, UK).

Screenshots and video clips: with thanks to the suppliers of the following products, subscribed under license to the University of Birmingham

  • LWW Wolters Kluwer, for Ovid Medline 
  • Ex Libris Group (Proquest) for FindIt 
  • Clarivate Analytics for Endnote Online 
Accessibility statement