Digimap provides online access to the most up-to-date maps from Ordnance Survey and allows registered users to view and create maps of any location in Great Britain using map data.
You can use Digimap to:
view maps
print maps at A4 to A0 size
annotate maps
download PDF., PNG, JPG files
Help and guidance on the use of Digimap with other software is available through the EDINA Digimap Resource Centre (available after log in)
We subscribe to the full range of Digimap services:
Aerial Digimap contains aerial imagery data at scales ranging from 1:150,000 to 1:500 available for making maps online or for download. Standard tasks that Aerial Digimap allows you to perform are: selecting your area of interest in Great Britain by zooming and panning; viewing maps at one of 11 pre-defined scales with Ordnance Survey background maps; click on images to display flight dates for each tile; annotate the maps with symbols, lines, polygons and labels
Environment Digimap provides access to Land Cover data from the Centre for Ecology and Hydrology. Separate datasets are available for 1990, 2000, 2007, and 2015, all national coverages.
Also included are Dudley Stamps maps of the 1930s Land Utilisation Survey of Britain. Digimap contains high-quality digital map data for the UK. Maps can be viewed at a variety of scales, including user-defined. Data can be downloaded as a map, or for use with appropriate software, e.g. GIS and CAD.
Geology Digimap offers a wide range of geological map data from the British Geological Survey. Facilities are available to view, interrogate, and print maps through an easy-to-use web interface, and you can download the geological map data for use in geographical information systems.
A wide range of BGS datasets are available including their renowned 1:50,000 onshore geology data product as well as the 1:10,000 and 1:25,000 datasets.
The geology data is considered invaluable in a wide range of disciplines. Subjects such as civil engineering, ecology, coastal erosion studies, and natural resource planning make use of the data along with more obvious academic disciplines such as the earth sciences.
Global Digimap provides access to global datasets in cartographic styles and downloadable formats that are useful to you. The service provides the following:
An easy to use interface to allow you to browse, annotate, and print global maps.
A data download facility providing access to global datasets for use in GIS software.
Historic Digimap delivers historical Ordnance Survey maps of Great Britain. The Collection is licensed from Landmark Information Group for UK Higher and Further Education.
The service provides the following:
An easy to use interface to allow you to browse, view, and print historical maps.
Contemporary and historical search tools (for example, you could search for a location using contemporary postcodes, place names, and National Grid References, or historical parish and county names and latitude and longitude. A facility for directly comparing two maps from different times but of the same location. As you pan and zoom one map, the other will follow. This allows comparisons of changes through time. If you have access to both the historic maps and contemporary OS maps through Digimap, you will be able to directly compare contemporary Land-Line.Plus and historic maps. A simple data download facility so that the maps you are viewing can be downloaded to your computer for use in a Geographic Information System (GIS) or image processing software. The map data is available in TIFF format with either TFW world files for ESRI GIS users or TAB files for MapInfo users. Online help with using Historic Digimap, and understanding the historical maps and technical issues relating to their use in the service, GIS, and image processing software.
Lidar Digimap offers detailed Lidar data from the Environment Agency through an on-demand web interface. It also offers vertical aerial photography.
Digimap contains high quality digital map data for the UK. Maps can be viewed at a variety of scales, including user-defined. Data can be downloaded as a map, or for use with appropriate software, eg GIS, CAD.
You will be required to register the first time you use this resource. Please follow the on screen prompts.
Please note that some Digimap options (such as Digimap Download) are not available to off-campus users.
Marine Digimap offers two types of data. Firstly, raster nautical charts are derived from UK Hydrographic Office paper charts and chart panels. This chart dataset comes in two versions: Raster Charts and Raster Charts XL, which excludes land-based features so you can add your own. Secondly, Marine Themes vector data covers all UK waters and is a feature rich dataset derived from authoritative material obtained from the UK Hydrographic Offices, as well as comprehensive source data where available.
Marine Themes Vector is engineered into logical data layers for easy loading and efficient use in Geographic Information Systems (GIS). Data attributes have been designed with analysis and querying in mind.
All data is licensed by OceanWise
Marine data is extensively used in offshore engineering projects, management of marine and coastal environments, marine ecology studies, environmental impact assessments and tourism.
Digimap is a web-based map service using Ordnance Survey digital data. Data can be downloaded as maps, or for use with appropriate GIS software. Note: Registration is required for both Digimap and Geology Digimap.
Society Digimap provides a wealth of census and socio-economic data for Great Britain, allowing users can access the rich information to gain valuable insights for their areas of interest without the need to learn how to use a GIS.
Advice and assistance with the registration and use of Digimap is available from the Map Library
