Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FindIt@Bham: Finding databases

FindIt@Bham online help

Finding databases

Library Services' YouTube video on Using FindIt@Bham to find databases (subtitles available):

Apart from books and journals, the Library subscribes to a vast array of other electronic resources which are of relevance to all subjects.  These can be bibliographic databases, historical sources, original texts, newspapers, statistics, images, multi-media resources, websites, etc.

In FindIt@Bham, these can be found by clicking on the Databases or database search tab at the top of the screen.  You may need to first click on the 3 horizontal dots to enable this function. 

FindIt screenshot of options including database search

 

You can search for them by their name, if you know it, using the Title box or the alphabetical links under the search bar.   Otherwise, you can select a subject from the Resource subject filter on the left.

If you are looking for a specific type of resource (e.g. newspapers, statistics, images, etc.), use the Resource type filter on the left for a drop-down list. 

Access to databases

Once you select a database, it will give you a description of it, the type of resource it is, and whether it is subscribed or free of charge:

Screenshot of Bridgeman Education database entry on FindIt, with further information

Click on its title to access the resource.  If there is a note saying Please read before use!, this is usually about information you need for access, such as a specific username and password.  If there is an online user guide available, there will be a link to it.

Subject support

Library Services provide training and advice in the use of databases and other resources either through training sessions embedded in University courses, or individually on request.

Consult the Academic Skills Centre for undergraduate and taught postgraduate courses, or Research Skills Support for doctoral and other researchers.

Just Ask !

If you would like to ask a quick question of the library staff, please use the Just Ask! messaging service.

Image of JustAsk messaging screen

Accessibility statement