Skip to Main Content

Google Scholar

This guide looks at the advantages and disadvantages of using Google Scholar

Log-in to FindIt@Bham

This is the main route for using Google Scholar off-campus.

Log-in to FindIt@Bham 

Searching Google Scholar from here will result in hits with FindIt!@BHAM and FullText!@BHAM links.

Configure the FindIt@Bham links in Google Scholar without logging in to FindIt@Bham

To do this:

  • Click on ‘Settings’ in the right-hand corner of the screen and click on ‘Library links’ from the left-hand menu.
  • Type ‘Birmingham’ into the search box and click on ‘Find Library’.
  • Tick ‘University of Birmingham –FullText!@Bham’, then press Save

You can also set preferences for the results display by clicking on ‘Search results’ and ‘Language’ in the left-hand menu.

Finding full text (i.e. getting hold of the article)

There are links to full-text journal articles in Google Scholar, but many of these articles need to be paid for unless the Library has a subscription to the journal in which they are published or they are in an Open Access repository. The University of Birmingham Library has created links in Google Scholar to enable you to get the full-text of articles from the electronic journals that we subscribe to.

There are four routes to finding the full text of documents:

  • If you see the FullText!@BHAM link after the title, it means we have a subscription. Clicking on this link will take you to a menu which may give you several choices of platforms for the full text. Click on the ‘Go’ button to get to the full text
  • A FindIt!@BHAM link amongst the links at the end of the record means that Google Scholar is not aware of a University of Birmingham Library subscription but will check to see if there is one
  • If the Library does not subscribe to the journal in which the article is published, you may still be able to see a free version of the paper if it is in an Open Access repository. To locate such free articles you will need to click on the link to other versions e.g. all 3 versions » which occurs after the title if present
  • If there is no subscription and no free version of the article, it is possible that we have a print copy of the journal. To find out if we do, you need to search for the title of the journal in FindIt@Bham

 

Google Scholar retrieved references with FindIt@Bham full text links

 

NB. You will only see the FullText!@BHAM and FindIt!@BHAM links if you are using a computer on-campus, unless you login in via FindIt@Bham or configure the preference within  Google Scholar. See below for more information on how to do this.

How to get hold of full text we do not subscribe to

To track down books or journals we do not have access to at Birmingham, you can either visit another university library see SCONUL Access or have them delivered to Birmingham from the British Library using Document Supply.

Document supply at UoB is currently free of charge (as of July 2022) but a charge will be made for any uncollected or unconsulted items.  See Inter-library Loans and Document Supply for full details and updates.

Accessibility statement