Documentation of the liberation struggles in southern Africa, including archival materials, periodicals, oral histories, books, posters, and photographs.
he Aluka website includes a wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials contributed by Aluka's partners, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides. By aggregating these materials online, the Aluka collections link materials that are widely dispersed and difficult to access, opening up new opportunities for research, teaching, and broader public discussion
Bridgeman Education contains images relating to the visual culture of every civilization from all continents covering prehistoric times to the present. Images can be used legally in presentations within University of Birmingham.
The English North China Herald is universally acclaimed as the prime printed source in any language for the history of the foreign presence in China from around 1850 to the 1940s.
Produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University and Adam Matthew Digital. The quest of the Perdita Project has been to find early modern women authors who were "lost" because their writing exists only in manuscript form. Adam Matthew Digital has now enhanced this path-breaking research by linking their catalogue descriptions with full digital facsimiles of many of the manuscripts. The manuscripts in this site were written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries and they have been sourced from archives and libraries across the United Kingdom and the USA.
Full text of key editions of the works of Shakespeare, from the First Folio to the nineteenth century. Important adaptations, sequels, and burlesques are also featured.
Shakespeare in Performance showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare's plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States, and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
This resource provides access to primary materials from 1900-2000 of one of the leading advertising agencies in America, which led the advertising campaigns for world brands such as Kellogg's and Kraft.
Materials in the collection range from minutes of staff meetings, market research reports, client briefs and the final advertisements. The materials allow an insight into how a creative team works and makes decisions and how advertising influences the development of television.
Access to thousands of rare archive tems offering insight into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, to early twentieth centuries.
Women in the National ArchivesThis link opens in a new window'Women in the National Archives' is a finding Aid to Women's Studies Resources in The National Archives, Kew, combined with original documents on the Suffrage Question in Britain, the Empire and Colonial Territories.
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820This link opens in a new windowThrough 75,000 pages of highly curated text-based documents, Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820–a supplement to Women and Social Movements, International–explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices.
Women and Social Movements International 1840 - present (Alexander Street Press).This link opens in a new windowWomen and Social Movements, International is a collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection demonstrates how women's social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
Women's Studies Archive: Issues and IdentitiesThis link opens in a new windowAs the first module in the Women's Studies Archive, Issues and Identities traces the path of women's issues from past to present—pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. It captures the foundation of women’s movements, struggles and triumphs, and provides researchers with valuable insights, focusing on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. Along with providing a closer look at some of the pioneers of women’s movements, this collection offers scholars a deep dive into the issues that have affected women and the many contributions they have made to society.
Women's Studies Archive: Voice and VisionThis link opens in a new windowVoice and Vision brings more female voices to the forefront. Particular attention has been paid to the mediums through which women have created a voice for themselves, with female-authored literature, journals and magazines that were produced by women, not just for women. Looking beyond simply women’s suffrage, the archive covers multiple areas that are of key importance to the study of women’s history from a diverse and global perspective, from the abolition of slavery, alcohol and temperance movements, pacifism, and political activism, to domestic service, education, health and hygiene, divorce, and social reform – giving researchers full access to a vital aspect of women’s history.
Women's studies.This link opens in a new windowThis collection offers access to the works and legacy of many notable and influential women, but also a chance to hear the voices of forgotten and ordinary women. Highlights include: papers and rare printed works of important female writers and thinkers, life writing and autobiographies of a range of 18th and 19th century women, the papers of Sylvia Pankhurst, suffragette, political activist and campaigner, diaries and correspondence of aristocratic women, giving insights into the social, political and cultural history of rich and powerful women of the 18th and 19th centuries, women’s travel writing - manuscript and printed accounts of women travellers, missionaries, tourists and women living across the British Empire.
Women's Magazine ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowAn archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution colour and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
Women Writers OnlineThis link opens in a new windowContains the full text of works by women writers between 1400 and 1850.
Perdita Manuscripts. Women writers, 1500-1700.This link opens in a new windowProduced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University and Adam Matthew Digital. The quest of the Perdita Project has been to find early modern women authors who were "lost" because their writing exists only in manuscript form. Adam Matthew Digital has now enhanced this path-breaking research by linking their catalogue descriptions with full digital facsimiles of many of the manuscripts. The manuscripts in this site were written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries and they have been sourced from archives and libraries across the United Kingdom and the USA.
Bibliography of English Women Writers 1500-1640This link opens in a new windowThe Bibliography of English Women Writers 1500-1640 has evolved into a still-growing list of scholarship about 738 recovered writers and located texts, canonical and non-canonical. It identifies many hitherto unknown writers, including among them not only already familiar figures, but also women refugees such as the recusants, women in the colonies, Marrano women (Anusot), women translators, and English women writers in French, Greek, Latin, Spanish, Irish Gaelic, Scottish Gaelic, and Welsh.
Freely available archive websites:
The Black Women Oral History Project The Black Women Oral History Project interviewed 72 African American women between 1976 and 1981. With support from the Schlesinger Library, the project recorded a cross section of women who had made significant contributions to American society during the first half of the 20th century.
Digital Transgender Archive
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.
Discovery
Discovery holds more than 32 million descriptions of records held by The National Archives and more than 2,500 archives across the country. Over 9 million records are available for download.
Glasgow Women's Library Glasgow Women's Library houses a huge collection of periodicals, pamphlets, and objects that focus on LGBTQ women's history.
British Online Archives provides students and researchers in the humanities and social sciences with access to unique collections of primary source documents. To this end, the website hosts over 4 million records drawn from both private and public archives. These records are organised thematically, covering 1,000 years of world history, from politics and warfare to slavery and medicine.
These papers cover the growth of the British Union of Fascists and the impact of World War 2 upon them. The documents include both their official publications and the imprisonment of their leader Oswald Mosley.
Part of Archives Bound,the collection comprises The Papers of Joseph Chamberlain; The Papers of Neville Chamberlain; and The Papers of Sir Austen Chamberlain.
Documents on British Policy Overseas (DBPO) is a fully searchable collection of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO), shedding light on diplomatic history throughout the 20th C. It is based on three print series which form a record of British peacetime diplomacy since the end of the 19th C: British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914, Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939 and Documents on British Policy Overseas. DBPO is produced in collaboration between ProQuest and the FCO.
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
British Online Archives provides students and researchers in the humanities and social sciences with access to unique collections of primary source documents. To this end, the website hosts over 4 million records drawn from both private and public archives. These records are organised thematically, covering 1,000 years of world history, from politics and warfare to slavery and medicine.
Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
Part of Archives Bound,the collection comprises The Papers of Joseph Chamberlain; The Papers of Neville Chamberlain; and The Papers of Sir Austen Chamberlain.
Historic Digimap delivers historical Ordnance Survey maps of Great Britain. The Collection is licensed from Landmark Information Group for UK Higher and Further Education.
The service provides the following:
An easy to use interface to allow you to browse, view, and print historical maps.
Contemporary and historical search tools (for example, you could search for a location using contemporary postcodes, place names, and National Grid References, or historical parish and county names and latitude and longitude. A facility for directly comparing two maps from different times but of the same location. As you pan and zoom one map, the other will follow. This allows comparisons of changes through time. If you have access to both the historic maps and contemporary OS maps through Digimap, you will be able to directly compare contemporary Land-Line.Plus and historic maps. A simple data download facility so that the maps you are viewing can be downloaded to your computer for use in a Geographic Information System (GIS) or image processing software. The map data is available in TIFF format with either TFW world files for ESRI GIS users or TAB files for MapInfo users. Online help with using Historic Digimap, and understanding the historical maps and technical issues relating to their use in the service, GIS, and image processing software.
The Stationers' Company Archive is a resource for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions, and the history of bookbinding.
Database of original documents and images relating to Victorian popular culture - particularly theatre, music hall, circuses, popular entertainment, magic and spiritualism.
'Women in the National Archives' is a finding Aid to Women's Studies Resources in The National Archives, Kew, combined with original documents on the Suffrage Question in Britain, the Empire and Colonial Territories.
Online version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels.
The Patrologia Latina Database contains 221 volumes and represents a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865).
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
A rich repository of source materials on the work of this globally influential organisation, founded in 1799 as an evangelical Christian movement and is still active today.This varied archive includes records of both the CMS and several other missionary societies which became associated or amalgamated with it.
This resource provides access to primary materials from 1900-2000 of one of the leading advertising agencies in America, which led the advertising campaigns for world brands such as Kellogg's and Kraft.
Materials in the collection range from minutes of staff meetings, market research reports, client briefs and the final advertisements. The materials allow an insight into how a creative team works and makes decisions and how advertising influences the development of television.
The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth.
Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1850 (and 1851-1914 in Part II) provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more.
Migration to New Worlds : The Century of Immigration - Module 1'Migration to New Worlds' explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. Concentrating on the period 1800 to 1924 - otherwise known as the Century of Immigration - the resource covers all aspects of the migration experience, from departures to arrival and permanent settlement.
Digitized primary source documents from the Wiener Library, contains 1,200 eyewitness accounts gathered in the 1950's and early 1960's; 4,000 photographs and Nazi propaganda material.
Full text of previously classified material from the American government dating from the years immediately following WWII onwards, and incorporating nearly every major foreign and domestic event of recent history: the Vietnam War, the Cold War, the Civil Rights Movement and many others.
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
Aerial Digimap contains aerial imagery data at scales ranging from 1:150,000 to 1:500 available for making maps online or for download. Standard tasks that Aerial Digimap allows you to perform are: selecting your area of interest in Great Britain by zooming and panning; viewing maps at one of 11 pre-defined scales with Ordnance Survey background maps; click on images to display flight dates for each tile; annotate the maps with symbols, lines, polygons and labels
Environment Digimap provides access to Land Cover data from the Centre for Ecology and Hydrology. Separate datasets are available for 1990, 2000, 2007, and 2015, all national coverages.
Also included are Dudley Stamps maps of the 1930s Land Utilisation Survey of Britain. Digimap contains high-quality digital map data for the UK. Maps can be viewed at a variety of scales, including user-defined. Data can be downloaded as a map, or for use with appropriate software, e.g. GIS and CAD.
Geology Digimap offers a wide range of geological map data from the British Geological Survey. Facilities are available to view, interrogate, and print maps through an easy-to-use web interface, and you can download the geological map data for use in geographical information systems.
A wide range of BGS datasets are available including their renowned 1:50,000 onshore geology data product as well as the 1:10,000 and 1:25,000 datasets.
The geology data is considered invaluable in a wide range of disciplines. Subjects such as civil engineering, ecology, coastal erosion studies, and natural resource planning make use of the data along with more obvious academic disciplines such as the earth sciences.
Global Digimap provides access to global datasets in cartographic styles and downloadable formats that are useful to you. The service provides the following:
An easy to use interface to allow you to browse, annotate, and print global maps.
A data download facility providing access to global datasets for use in GIS software.
Historic Digimap delivers historical Ordnance Survey maps of Great Britain. The Collection is licensed from Landmark Information Group for UK Higher and Further Education.
The service provides the following:
An easy to use interface to allow you to browse, view, and print historical maps.
Contemporary and historical search tools (for example, you could search for a location using contemporary postcodes, place names, and National Grid References, or historical parish and county names and latitude and longitude. A facility for directly comparing two maps from different times but of the same location. As you pan and zoom one map, the other will follow. This allows comparisons of changes through time. If you have access to both the historic maps and contemporary OS maps through Digimap, you will be able to directly compare contemporary Land-Line.Plus and historic maps. A simple data download facility so that the maps you are viewing can be downloaded to your computer for use in a Geographic Information System (GIS) or image processing software. The map data is available in TIFF format with either TFW world files for ESRI GIS users or TAB files for MapInfo users. Online help with using Historic Digimap, and understanding the historical maps and technical issues relating to their use in the service, GIS, and image processing software.
Lidar Digimap offers detailed Lidar data from the Environment Agency through an on-demand web interface. It also offers vertical aerial photography.
Digimap contains high quality digital map data for the UK. Maps can be viewed at a variety of scales, including user-defined. Data can be downloaded as a map, or for use with appropriate software, eg GIS, CAD.
You will be required to register the first time you use this resource. Please follow the on screen prompts.
Please note that some Digimap options (such as Digimap Download) are not available to off-campus users.
Marine Digimap offers two types of data. Firstly, raster nautical charts are derived from UK Hydrographic Office paper charts and chart panels. This chart dataset comes in two versions: Raster Charts and Raster Charts XL, which excludes land-based features so you can add your own. Secondly, Marine Themes vector data covers all UK waters and is a feature rich dataset derived from authoritative material obtained from the UK Hydrographic Offices, as well as comprehensive source data where available.
Marine Themes Vector is engineered into logical data layers for easy loading and efficient use in Geographic Information Systems (GIS). Data attributes have been designed with analysis and querying in mind.
All data is licensed by OceanWise
Marine data is extensively used in offshore engineering projects, management of marine and coastal environments, marine ecology studies, environmental impact assessments and tourism.
Reflecting the social, political and cultural events of the times, British Library Newspapers is a database that allows access to a comprehensive range of regional and local newspapers in Britain between the mid eighteenth and mid twentieth centuries.
A digitised collection of newspapers and pamphlets from the 17th and 18th century originally collected by the Rev. Charles Burney. These materials represent the early period in the development of newspapers and the free press in Britain.
The Daily Mail has been at the heart of British journalism since 1896, regularly changing the course of government policy and setting the national debate. As well as providing access to the regular edition of this path-breaking newspaper, the archive also contains the Atlantic Editions, printed on board the transatlantic cruise liners between 1923 and 1931.
The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2020 (EHA) is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. In 8,000 issues and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables. Altogether this is a multidisciplinary primary source for researching and teaching the 19th and 20th centuries.
A complete searchable facsimile run of the worlds most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888 to 2016, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page.
With its debut in 1842 the Illustrated London News became the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper, sparking a revolution in journalism and news reporting. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events - including news of war, disasters, royalty, social affairs, the arts and science. Containing over 260,000 full colour pages, fully searchable and browseable, the ILN Historical Archive 1842-2003 provides users with unprecedented access to the entire run of this unique historical record.
This includes more than 280 newspapers from 35 US states. The newspapers are written for and by African Americans, and includes Freedoms Journal which was the first African American newspaper in the US.
The English North China Herald is universally acclaimed as the prime printed source in any language for the history of the foreign presence in China from around 1850 to the 1940s.
Text of newspapers from across the world as well as UK national and local newspapers; Company information and reports. Information regarding a particular country can also be found in this database, as well as a biographical directory of people in the fields of business and commerce.
Online version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels.
A rich repository of source materials on the work of this globally influential organisation, founded in 1799 as an evangelical Christian movement and is still active today.This varied archive includes records of both the CMS and several other missionary societies which became associated or amalgamated with it.
The Patrologia Latina Database contains 221 volumes and represents a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865).
Digitized primary source documents from the Wiener Library, contains 1,200 eyewitness accounts gathered in the 1950's and early 1960's; 4,000 photographs and Nazi propaganda material.
The Internet Archive is a complete snapshot of all web pages on every website since 1996. Since the average lifetime of a page on the Internet is 100 days, this snapshot is retaken every two months. The Internet Archive at the BA includes the web collection of 1996 through 2007. It represents about 1.5 petabytes of data stored on 880 computers. The entire collection is available for free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public. This historic collection is invaluable to scholars trying to understand the interactions between people and events.
The Stationers' Company Archive is a resource for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions, and the history of bookbinding.
housands of UK websites have been collected since 2004 and the Archive is growing fast. Here you can see how sites have changed over time, locate information no longer available on the live web, and observe the unfolding history of a spectrum of UK activities represented online. Sites that no longer exist elsewhere are found here and those yet to be archived can be saved for the future by nominating them. The Archive contains sites that reflect the rich diversity of lives and interests throughout the UK. Search is by Title of Website, Full Text or URL, or browse by Subject, Special Collection or Alphabetical List. There are also links to other web archives, summarising those with a British interest as well as overseas archives.
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Some publications may contain explicit content.
Society Digimap provides a wealth of census and socio-economic data for Great Britain, allowing users can access the rich information to gain valuable insights for their areas of interest without the need to learn how to use a GIS.
