LibGuides: Education: Specialist resources

Specialist resources for Education

National Autistic Society
The National Autistic Society is a UK charity for people on the autism spectrum and their families. This website provides support, guidance and advice, as well as campaigning for improved rights, services and opportunities to help create a society that works for autistic people.
Children's Literature Review
Children's Literature Review presents full-text literary criticism on writers and illustrators for children and young adults. Critical essays are selected from leading sources, including published journals, magazines, books, monographs, reviews, and scholarly papers.
Sports Medicine & Education Index
This database allows all researchers and professionals in the field to acquire accurate and scholarly information. These abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Health education and physical therapy are also covered.
PsycINFO
An index to the professional and academic literature on psychology and related disciplines including sociology and education from 1806 to the present. PsycInfo covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, pharmacology, physiology and linguistics.

International Encyclopedia of Education
Major reference work.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd edition) - Elsevier
Major reference work.
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society
This 3-vol. set presents the social and cultural history of childhood from antiquity to the present. Children and Childhood examines this history through articles on education, parenting, child labour, economics, images of childhood, children's literature, play, toys and games, health, physiology, law, the criminal justice system and social welfare.
SAGE Knowledge
SAGE Knowledge is home to an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content including reference works, academic books, professional development titles and more.

Encyclopedia of Special Education
A reference work for the education of children, adolescents and adults with disabilities, and other exceptional individuals. Vol.1: A-C; Vol.2: D-J; Vol.3: K-P; Vol.4: Q-Z.

Public Information Online
Includes Command Papers, House of Commons Papers, House of Lords Papers, Bills of both Houses, Explanatory Notes and Public Bill/Standing Committee Debates. Begins with 2006/07 session and updated daily.
UK Parliamentary Papers
Contains searchable full text of House of Commons Papers, Command Papers, Bills, Reports of Committees and Commissioners. Use this or Lawtel, BOPCRIS, or UKOP.
GOV.UK
Website providing access to UK government services and information for the general public. Access is arranged by topic, by current government activity and by ministerial department. Links to over 400 other agencies and public bodies are listed.
Office for National Statistics
The UK's largest independent producer of official statistics and the recognised national statistical institute of the UK.

Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
BoB is an off-air recording and media archive service which stores recorded TV and Radio programmes in an archive indefinitely.
British Universities Film and Video Council Databases
BUFVC sources databases on dvds, News on Screen, Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching TRILT, Researcher's Guide Online - RGO and Moving Image Gateway.
Education in Video
A growing collection of videos of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries and examples of classroom practice.
ARTStor Digital Library
Collection of images from some of the worlds leading museums, photo archives etc. All images cleared for educational use.
Bridgeman Education
Bridgeman Education contains images relating to the visual culture of every civilization from all continents covering prehistoric times to the present. Images can be used legally in presentations within University of Birmingham.