LibGuides: Classics, Ancient History and Archaeology: Specialist resources

Specialist resources for CAHA

Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Classical Dictionary includes over 6,000 full-text online articles from the print 4th edition as well as newly commissioned and updated entries. It is the first place to turn to for clear, authoritative information on all aspects of ancient culture.
Oxford Bibliographies - Classics This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies in Classics offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across the field of Classics.
Database of Latin Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Cross searchable database of modern and medieval Latin dictionaries.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) This link opens in a new window
The Thesaurus linguae Latinae is a Latin dictionary which is the first to cover all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D. 31 academies and scholarly societies from 23 countries support the work of the Bayerische Akademie (Thesaurusbüro München) The database contains all content that is also available in print.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present day, currently comprising texts dating from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Please note that downloading of text materials is prohibited. TLG is a reference only tool.
New Pauly Online This link opens in a new window
This service provides online access to both the Neue Pauly (published in German between 1996 and 2003) and Brill's New Pauly (published in English and not yet complete). The Pauly encyclopedia is a key reference tool for any student of Classics and the history/archaeology of the ancient world.
Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina This link opens in a new window
The Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL) online comprises the data of BTL 4, supplemented by the texts of all Latin editions of the Bibliotheca Scriptorum Graecorum et Romanorum Teubneriana printed by 2008.
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum This link opens in a new window
The Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum systematically collects newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents.

Brill's New Jacoby This link opens in a new window
The monumental series Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker (FGrHist) contains the critical edition of 856 Greek historians whose work is preserved incompletely, i.e., in fragments. Felix Jacoby collected these fragments and edited them, adding biographical testimonies and extensive commentaries. There are five parts covered in three volumes: Parts I-III; Part IV; and Part V.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Classic collection of more than 520 volumes of Greek and Latin writings with parallel English text.

Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
BoB is an off-air recording and media archive service which stores recorded TV and Radio programmes in an archive indefinitely.
Bridgeman Education This link opens in a new window
Bridgeman Education contains images relating to the visual culture of every civilization from all continents covering prehistoric times to the present. Images can be used legally in presentations within University of Birmingham.
ARTStor Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of images from some of the worlds leading museums, photo archives etc. All images cleared for educational use.