LibGuides: African Studies and Anthropology: Getting started

Using good quality resources and citing them correctly will enhance the quality of your work.

This guide brings together key resources in your subject.

Image: Seated African mother and child, Igbo, Nigeria, early 20th century (wood) / Private Collection / © Michael Graham-Stewart / Bridgeman Images.

Using this guide

Use the tabs on the right or the links below to navigate around this guide

Books and Ebooks: Read around your topic and ensure that you have a balanced overview of your topic.
Journals: Use bibliographical databases to find academic journal articles, conference papers, reports etc which provide the latest in-depth discussion of your topic
Websites: A curated range of recommended online resources
African studies libraries and special collections: Locating specialist collections

The following links will take you to our other guides looking at:

Using FindIt: FindIt@Bham gives you access to information about all the Library's resources from one location. This includes books, journal articles, theses, audio-visual materials, databases, archives and much more.
Guide to Effective Searching: This will give you tips on how to use keywords in a logical and consistent way so as to find the best results when searching any information database.
Referencing: This gives all the information you need to be able to cite your references correctly in your written work.
The Academic Skills Gateway: Further help and advice on finding and referencing information, academic writing and digital skills
Libraries and Learning Resources Homepage