Skip to main content

Database guides and tutorials : Home

An A-Z list of all our databases guides and tutorials

Introduction

Before using any of the following database guides we advise that you look at our Guide to Effective Search Techniques 

 

A - Z list of database guides

Applied Social Sciences Indexes and Abstracts Links to external website  

AMED (Alternative Medicine) (PDF-76kb)

Artstor

Barbour Index Professional Series (PDF - 1.07MB)

Box of Broadcasts

British Education Index (EBSCO) Links to external website  

British Standards Online (BSOL) Links to external website 

Business Electronic Journals  (PDF)

Business Source Premier (PDF)

CAB Abstracts

CCOHS Web Information Service (PDF)

CINAHL (PDF)

Cochrane Library Links to external website  

Company Information

Compendex Links to external website  

Database tutorials for Law

Datastream - Please note that the Datastream PCs are currently located in Zone 1B (First Floor) of the Main Library. PC numbers 81 and 82. Guides can be borrowed at classmark HG 4013.7/D. Check FindIt for availability.

EconLit Links to external website  

EMBASE

Engineering Databases

ERIC (EBSCO) Links to external website  

FAME (Financial Analysis Made Easy)

FindIt@Bham - Effective search tips

Google Scholar

Index Islamicus  Links to external website  

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers Links to external website  

Humanities Index Links to external website  

Kluwer Arbitration Links to external website  

Law: Database tutorials for Law

Lawtel - Online demonstration  Links to external website  or User Guide Links to external website  

LEXIS (Legal Information) Links to external website  

LION (Literature Online)

Market Research  pdf

Medline

MLA International Bibliography

NEXIS (News and Newspapers) Links to external website  

OVID Databases (CAB ABstracts, Medline, EMBASE, PsycInfo)

Patents

Periodicals Index Online

PsycInfo

Reaxys Links to external website  

Social Services Abstracts Links to external website  

Sociological Abstracts Links to external website  

SportDISCUS Links to external website  

Statistical Information

UK Official Publications

Web of Science Core Collection Links to external website  

Westlaw Links to external website  

World Shakespeare Bibliography Links to external website  

Zetoc Links to external website  

Accessibility statement