Skip to main content

LION (Literature Online): About

A guide to all aspects of Literature Online (LION) including content, searching, and viewing results

Subject Coverage

  • Poetry
  • Prose
  • Drama
  • Criticisms
  • Reference material
  • Essays
  • Biographies
  • Encyclopedia entries

Publication Types

  • Bibliographies
  • Full text academic journals
  • KnowledgeNotes™ student guides
  • Poets on Screen
  • Reference works
  • Shakespeare audio plays

What is LION (Literature Online)?

What is Literature Online (LION)?

Literature Online contains a full library of up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference resources in addition to the full text of over 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose fiction from the eighth century to the present day.  It provides scholars and students with texts, criticism and search tools which open up new possibilities for academic research, teaching and undergraduate learning.  It not only provides the materials for the historical study of almost every period and genre of literature in English but also features increasing numbers of works by the major authors of the twentieth century.  Contemporary criticism is available through the full text of current literature journals that can be accessed through the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) which is incorporated in the database.

Literature Online also includes audio and video content through its Poets on Screen recordings of poets reading their own and others' works and the Shakespeare Audio Plays collection.

Image from ProQuest

Accessibility statement