Skip to main content

Gender and Sexual Diversity: Books & eBooks

Guide to library and information sources in gender and sexual diversity

Books

To find books in the library on your subject you will need to use FindIt@Bham. Search by:

  • author
  • title
  • keyword, or
  • classmark 

It is recommended that you select 'Library Catalogue' from the drop-down menu next to the search box.

Looking for a Resource List? Type the name of your lecturer, module title or module code into FindIt@Bham and change the drop-down menu to 'Resource Lists & Guides'

Resource Lists@Bham makes it easier for you to find library resources which your tutors have been recommended for specific modules.

You can access resource lists for your modules through Canvas.

Resource lists (which used to be called reading lists) contain all types of material: books, journal articles, chapters in ebooks or film clips etc.

  • Books: link to the library catalogue for real-time availability information on screen so you can see if the book you want is on the shelf is on loan or on the shelf.
  • E-books: 'Access the eBook' takes you straight to the e-book.
  • Journal articles: link straight through to the full-text of the article
  • Web pages: click through to the appropriate website
  • YouTube, Box of Broadcasts and other videos: play on screen.
  • Many digitisations (scans) are now live and have been integrated into existing list

Resource Lists@Bham is a new service so not all resource lists have been added yet.

If your module resource list is not there, please report it to us using irecommend@contacts.bham.ac.uk. Please let us know the module and your lecturer's name and we will contact them to get the list / to set up the canvas link.

If you spot any mistakes or problems in your lists please let us know at resourcelists@contacts.bham.ac.uk  

News: Many digitisations (scans) are now live and have been integrated into existing lists

If you are looking for a book that is on your Resource List and cannot locate a copy on FindIt@Bham? Please contact our iRecommend service with an email to irecommend@contacts.bham.ac.uk giving the following details:

  • Title of the book
  • the name of your Course Tutor
  • the Course Title
  • the module number (if known)

If the book you require is not on a resource list, please contact your Engagement Advisor or your academic library representative based in your School.

  • You can use the COPAC catalogue to search the collections of approximately 90 major UK and Irish libraries in a single search. Library collections listed include Oxford and Cambridge Universities, the British Library and libraries at the National Trust and Royal Botanical Gardens, Kew.
  • If you wish to visit another UK university library, you might be eligible for a SCONUL card. This will allow you reference access to a large number of academic libraries around the UK. For more information on using other libraries please look at Access Schemes

If material is not held by the University of Birmingham, you can use our document supply service to request it from another institution. More details can be found at Interlibrary Loans and Document Supply

Loading

eBooks

You can find many individual eBook titles by searching in FindIt@Bham. To restrict your search:

  • select 'eBooks and eJournals from the drop-down menu, or
  • refine your search results by eBooks from the menu on the left-hand menu

The following are general collection of ebooks which cover many disciplines:

It is important to remember that whenever you are accessing ebooks you need to ise the sign in link at the top right of FindIt@Bham to enter your University username and password to ensure that you get full access to all the resources. This proves to the suppliers of theses resources that you are entitled to use them. 

Yes, you can, but the same restrictions apply for eBooks as they do for print books. Individuals are permitted to print up to one chapter or 5% under the University's copyright licences signed with publisher organisations.

eBooks are different however in that they may be subject to Digital Rights Management (DRM) controls. DRM technology allows publishers to control and manage the usage of their eBooks, for example they can restrict the number of concurrent users and limit the number of pages a user can copy, print or download. As we purchase our eBooks from a variety of sources DRM will vary between each provider. Any restrictions to DRM are imposed by the eBook provider and not the Library. Once these restrictions have been met the provider will prevent you from printing or copying any further text.

See our copyright pages for further information.

There are a number of ebooks and ebook packages available which will be of interest to the [insert School or College name here]. Here are just a few of them. To find more ebook collections for your area of study use the Find Databases option in FindIt@Bham and filter your search by 'type'.

Insert Databases here

Loading

Library Thing (Ebrary Academic Complete)

You will need to tell Paula which classmark range you wish to use

FindIt@Bham

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Encyclopedia of gender and society
Sage, 2009
Online access

Encyclopedia of gender in media
Sage, 2012
Online access

The gay & lesbian theatrical legacy : a biographical dictionary of major figures in American stage history in the pre-Stonewall era / edited by Billy J. Harbin, Kim Marra, and Robert A. Schanke.
University of Michigan Press, 2005
OLRC Selly Oak  792.0922 GAY

Gay histories and cultures : an encyclopedia / George E. Haggerty, editor
Garland, 2000
Main Library  Reference  HQ76 G

Handbook of gender and women's studies
Sage, 2006
Online access

Handbook of gender, work, and organization 
Wiley, 2011
Online access

Lesbian histories and cultures : an encyclopedia / Bonnie Zimmerman, editor.
Garland, 2000
Main Library  Reference  HQ76 L and  Online access

The Oxford encyclopedia of the Bible and gender studies / Julia M. O'Brien, editor in chief.
Oxford University Press, 2014
Main Library    BS680.W7 O94

The Oxford handbook of Shakespeare and embodiment : gender, sexuality, and race / edited by Valerie Traub.
Oxford University Press, 2016
Shakespeare Institute Library  PR2991