Finding Newspapers

Reflecting the social, political and cultural events of the times, British Library Newspapers is a database that allows access to a comprehensive range of regional and local newspapers in Britain between the mid eighteenth and mid twentieth centuries.

More than forty historical African newspapers, searchable online.

A digitised collection of newspapers and pamphlets from the 17th and 18th century originally collected by the Rev. Charles Burney. These materials represent the early period in the development of newspapers and the free press in Britain.

Provides fully searchable access to the full text of The Times newspaper

A complete searchable facsimile run of the worlds most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888 to 2016, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page.

The Daily Mail has been at the heart of British journalism since 1896, regularly changing the course of government policy and setting the national debate. As well as providing access to the regular edition of this path-breaking newspaper, the archive also contains the Atlantic Editions, printed on board the transatlantic cruise liners between 1923 and 1931.

Complete online facsimile edition

Fulltext of Chicago Tribune (1849-1998)

Provides full text access to The Guardian (1821 - 2001) and The Observer (1791 - 2003)

The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2020 (EHA) is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. In 8,000 issues and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables. Altogether this is a multidisciplinary primary source for researching and teaching the 19th and 20th centuries.

Contains over 90 years of full-text issues of this Soviet and Post-Soviet Russian newspaper.

Ever since it was launched in 1986, The Independent has enjoyed a reputation for quality and innovation, something Andreas Whittam-Smith and his two co-founders, Stephen Glover and Matthew Symonds, made as a guiding principle when they conceived the idea of a new, upmarket British newspaper.