Lifelong Libraries - professions and organisations

NHS Knowledge Hub

This is available for NHS employees in the UK and enables access to resources procured by the NHS nationally. 

NHS Knowledge and Library Hub

For queries, staff should contact their NHS Trust Library, or go to the following web page to register for an Open Athens password: 

openathens.nice.org.uk

Health Libraries Midlands (HeLM)

HeLM is a newly merged consortium of health libraries across the Midlands. There are various ways of applying for membership if you have an nhs.uk, nhs.net, ac.uk or gov.uk address if you are a bank or agency worker or a volunteer and do not have one of those email address. If you are a student or staff of any other NHS organisation, a GP or a member of the public not employed or registered at a HeLM organisation you can apply for external membership. See the HeLM membership page for more information.

Royal College of Nursing

The RCN has a library for members, including substantial electronic resources.

To contact the Library, see details at the RCN Library web page. 

Royal Society, Colleges and Faculties: libraries and electronic access. 

Libraries available to members (including eresources): where listings found. 

• Royal Society of Medicine
  Library: extensive print and electronic holdings.  Temporary reference use available for members of the public (charged)
• Royal College of General Practitioners
  A collection of online guides, not library resources in terms of databases, journals 
• Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
  Libraries and Learning Resources with online and print resources for members
• Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health 
  Catalogue of College publications, including material in the Dunn Perinatal Library
• Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh 
  Medical History and manuscript collections: some material digitized
• Royal College of Physicians of London 
  Library: reference access for general public, loans (+) for members
• Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh 
  Library: with extensive electronic holdings for members. Visits available to members of the public
• Royal College of Surgeons of England 
  Library: extensive electronic holdings for members, including databases.  
• Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland 
  Library: extensive electronic and print holdings
• Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain 
  Library access and holdings for members

British Dental Association Library 

Library with extensive print and electronic resources

• The British Library is the national library with its main collections and Reading Rooms near Euston Station in London: see the "Join" pages for information about membership.
• The National Library of Scotland in Edinburgh is Scotland's largest library and the world centre for the study of Scotland and the Scots.
• The  National Library of Wales  in Aberystwyth holds over  over 6.5 million books and periodicals, and the largest collections of archives, portraits, maps and photographic images in Wales.
• The National Library of Ireland  is in Dublin.
• The National Art Library is located in the Victoria and Albert Museum in London

• Epistemonikos - for evidence-based medical and health research
• PubMed - from the National Library of Medicine in the USA
  • How PubMed Works - course materials including PDFs and YouTube video links for classes from the National Library of Medicine (USA)
• Clinical Knowledge Summaries (CKS) - Practical guidance and management scenarios for Primary Care staff
• Evidence Search - Evidence-based medicine resource. Access to guidelines, systematic reviews and a wide range of material from authoritative sources accredited by NICE
• NHS Journals and Databases - description and access via NICE.  Requires Open Athens password available to NHS staff and students on accredited courses