Lifelong Libraries - professions and organisations

The Royal Society covers a number of scientific subjects and has extensive historical collections in its library.  

See the Collections / visitors page for details on visiting the Library.  The Journals page also has information about Royal Society journal publications and access. 

News: For a useful update on news items from the scientific world, see the SciCentral website.

London Mathematical Society

National organisation with library collections, merged into UCL Library. LMS members have access.

• Institute of Civil Engineers 
  Wide range of electronic and other resources.  Postal service available
• Institute of Engineering and Technology
  IET Digital Library: check for access details.  Covers a range of Engineering and Technical disciplines
• National Materials and Mining Archive and Library 
  Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3)

• Royal Society of Chemistry 
  Availability of library resources on web pages
• Institute of Physics 
  National body: publications listed, but no library

• The British Library is the national library with its main collections and Reading Rooms near Euston Station in London: see the "Join" pages for information about membership.
• The National Library of Scotland in Edinburgh is Scotland's largest library and the world centre for the study of Scotland and the Scots.
• The  National Library of Wales  in Aberystwyth holds over  over 6.5 million books and periodicals, and the largest collections of archives, portraits, maps and photographic images in Wales.
• The National Library of Ireland  is in Dublin.
• The National Art Library is located in the Victoria and Albert Museum in London