Medline and EndNote Online: basics

Referencing

NB: When using any referencing software for citations and bibliographies, remember to proof-read and to be aware of the essentials of referencing guidelines in the system recommended for your course (the main ones for MDS subjects are  Harvard and Vancouver).

More information on referencing is available on the Cite them right online site (requires University login) or on the iCite Referencing pages from Library Services, University of Birmingham.

Referencing Software - EndNote Online

EndNote Online is a web-based software programme which enables storage of references such as journal articles via databases including Medline.  These references can then be cited in Word documents and reference lists or bibliographies created.

It is the recommended reference management software for undergraduate and taught postgraduate students at the University of Birmingham from the Autumn Term 2021.

Set up on EndNote Online

EndNote Online is hosted on the same platform as the Web of Science database collection.  Setting up an account on Web of Science will then enable you to use EndNote Online as well as the folder or History features of Web of Science.

1. Go to Web of Science via the FindIt entry (use the 'Resource available at' link to open the database on-screen)
2. In Web of Science, click to Register via the button at the top right
3. Register to set up an account with the host platform Web of Science: use your University email address but think of a different password
4. Activate your account from the verification email you have received. NB: check your junk or spam folder if this does not appear in your Inbox
5. Return to the home page for Web of Science: if necessary via the FindIt entry
6. Now select Products at the top right of the Web of Science screen, then EndNote from the drop-down menu (not EndNote Click which is not referencing software)
7. This should open EndNote Online, and you are ready to start setting up groups to file your references in, and to export references from databases such as Web of Science (eg the Core Collection)

Panopto Video (includes sub-titles): open Canvas in separate tab or window if this video does not auto-play.