Skip to Main Content

Medline and EndNote Online: basics

Part 3B: EndNote Online - Adding Results (Medline)

Medline (Ovid) and EndNote Online

This section covers export of results from Medline (or other databases on the Ovid platform, such as Embase or PsycInfo). 

Panopto Video (includes sub-titles): open Canvas in separate tab or window if this video does not auto-play.

How to export results from Medline 

Perform a search on Medline and select the results for export. 

Choose Export. 

From the drop-down menu select:

  • Format: EndNote 
  • Fields: Complete Reference

This should generate a file Ovidweb (cgi). 

  • Save this file to desktop

In a separate tab or window, open up your EndNote Online account.

  • Go to Collect - Import References
  • Locate and choose the Ovidweb file
  • Next to Import Options, open a link to view a list of options (journal and database names)
  • Choose Medline (Ovid SP)
  • Select the group to send the reference(s) to: if no group is chosen, they will go to [Unfiled], from where they can still be added to an existing or new group

                                                       

Alternative method

If you have difficulty with exporting the file as above, you can also use the option to save the results of your Medline search as an . RIS file.

In Medline (Ovid):

  • Select .RIS file in the drop-down Export menu

In EndNote Online:

  • Collect - Import references
  • Choose the downloaded .RIS file
  • Import option - RefMan RIS
  • Choose group to send results to

                                                                                                

Manual addition of references

Individual reference details can be entered manually.

Using the Collect tab you can manually enter reference details by clicking on New Reference.

Try adding this Journal Article reference (note, each author’s name must be added on a new line):

Spring, H and Adams, R. (2013) 'Learning and Teaching in Action'. Health Information and Libraries Journal 30 (4), pp.337-342.

Other Databases

For details of export from other databases or platforms to EndNote Online, see the longer EndNote Online user guide.

Databases hosted on the Web of Science and EBSCO platforms allow results to be transferred directly into EndNote Online. Other platforms require a file to be generated, then imported from within Endnote Online. File type is usually .RIS.

EBSCO databases include CINAHL (Nursing and Allied Health), AMED (Alternative or Complementary Medicine), Business Source Premier and EconLit (useful for Health Economics topics).

Web of Science has a Core Collection which includes the Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index.  Medline content can also be searched by selecting Medline within Web of Science 'All Databases'.  Embase and PsycInfo are however only available on the Ovid platform.

The Bookmarklet tool is aimed at storing web page and similar information.

Bookmarklet tool

The EndNote Bookmarklet Tool (Capture Reference) scans the bibliographic information presented on a webpage and creates a reference which you can save in either EndNote online or EndNote desktop.

  • This is a particularly useful tool for those journal sites or webpages which do not offer a direct export option on screen
  • The Capture Reference bookmarklet can be found on EndNote online under Downloads
  • However: the reference produced may be very basic and require more details to be entered manually

Simply drag the bookmarklet to your toolbar and then use it subsequently when on a web page or other source you wish to save.  

  • This will initially produce a login screen: enter your Web of Science / EndNote Online login details

  • Then a template pop-up will show on-screen: fill in the required details before saving the record to your EndNote Online account

Note: Multiple authors will be listed on one line - after you've imported your captured reference(s) you'll need to edit the author field and ensure each name is on a separate line and displays correctly (either first name last name OR last name, first name). Also, ensure the Reference Type has been picked up correctly - you can change this before you import or afterwards.

Groups in EndNote Online

It is recommended to have one overall EndNote Library for all your references, and to use the Groups feature (like folders) to organise your references as needed.  

Why groups?

The Groups feature allows you to create mini libraries within your master library. Records imported from databases will first go into the [Unfiled] group and you can then copy them into your other groups or create new group(s) for them. You should move them from Unfiled into other groups as soon as you can.

You can also share Groups with others, for example a supervisor, or others taking part in the same research project or small group study assignment.  See the end of this page for information about sharing groups.

Adding to groups

You can copy existing references to a group by checking the box next to a single reference or checking the 'All' or 'Page' box to add multiple references. 
To add to an existing group select the group from the Add to Group drop down menu. The reference(s) will appear automatically in the group.  
To add to a new group or choose 'New Group' from the drop down menu and give the group a name. The reference(s) will appear automatically.in the group.  
The original reference(s) remain in your All My References library.

Manage your Groups

To delete, rename and share groups of references, choose: Organize - Manage My Groups

Screenshots

The following screenshots illustrate the features above.

 

 

 

 

Sharing Groups

Sharing is useful for group work or if you wish a tutor to see the references you have found for an ongoing assignment.  

Clarivate Analytics (EndNote suppliers) have a short page on Sharing Groups from which these instructions are taken.

  1. In Organize - Manage My Groups - select the group[s] to share and click on 'Manage sharing'
  2. Select 'Start sharing this group'
  3. On the next screen, enter the emails of those you wish to share with
    • These need to be existing EndNote Online users or to then set up their own accounts to enable viewing of the results
  4. Set the required enablements: ie, allow others to just read or read and write

File-sharing is not enabled by EndNote: this prevents breach of copyright and licensing agreements.

The following screenshot illustrates part of the sharing process.

Accessibility statement