LibGuides: Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion: Gender

Gender Resources

ResourceLists

Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion Resourcelist -Gender

International Women's Day

The second sex / Simone de Beauvoir by ; translated by Constance Borde and Sheila Malovany-Chevallier ; with an introduction by Sheila Rowbotham.
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781446442715
Publication Date: 2011
Bad Girls and Transgressive Women in Popular Television, Fiction, and Film by Julie A. Chappell (Editor); Mallory Young (Editor) This collection of essays focuses on the representations of a variety of "bad girls"--women who challenge, refuse, or transgress the patriarchal limits intended to circumscribe them--in television, popular fiction, and mainstream film from the mid-twentieth century to the present. Perhaps not surprisingly, the initial introduction of women into Western cultural narrative coincides with the introduction of transgressive women. From the beginning, for good or ill, women have been depicted as insubordinate. Today's popular manifestations include such widely known figures as Lisbeth Salander (the "girl with the dragon tattoo"), The Walking Dead's Michonne, and the queen bees of teen television series. While the existence and prominence of transgressive women has continued uninterrupted, however, attitudes towards them have varied considerably. It is those attitudes that are explored in this collection. At the same time, these essays place feminist/postfeminist analysis in a larger context, entering into ongoing debates about power, equality, sexuality, and gender.
Call Number: HQ1233 .B28
ISBN: 9783319472584
Publication Date: 2017-07-14
Deeds Not Words by Helen Pankhurst 'An incredible book . . . Informative, enlightening, and with the potential to change women's lives.' Sandi Toksvig 'A valuable guide and reference to anyone who wants to understand the Women's Movement in more depth. I am deeply grateful to Helen for writing it!' Annie Lennox OBE Why is it taking so long? Despite huge progress since the suffragette campaigns and wave after wave of feminism, women are still fighting for equality. Why, at the present rate will we have to wait in Britain until 2069 for the gender pay gap to disappear? Why, in 2015, did 11% of women lose their jobs due to pregnancy discrimination? Why, globally, has 1 in 3 women experienced physical or sexual violence? In 2018, on the centenary of one of the greatest steps forward for women - the Fourth Reform Act, which saw propertied women over 30 gain the vote for the first time - suffragette descendant and campaigner Helen Pankhurst charts how the lives of women in the UK have changed over the last 100 years. She celebrates landmark successes, little-known victories, where progress has stalled or reversed, looking at politics, money, identity, violence, culture and social norms. The voices of both pioneers and ordinary women - in all their diversity - are woven into the analysis which ends with suggestions about how to better understand and strengthen feminist campaigning and with aims for the future. Combining historical insight with inspiring argument, Deeds not Words reveals how far women have come since the suffragettes, how far we still have to go, and how we might get there. It is essential reading for anyone who wants to explore one of the most central and pressing conversations of our time.
Call Number: HQ1154 .P36
ISBN: 9781473646858
Publication Date: 2019-03-05

Key bibliographic databases

ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window Cross-searchable collection of 19 databases indexing sociology, the applied social sciences, linguistics, politics, physical education, criminal justice and Islamic studies, as well as British and American theses in these subjects.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window This index covers almost 2,500 journals across the social science disciplines and is one of five databases that make up the Web of Science, which is accessible via the Web of Knowledge.

Browzine and Journals

Use BrowZine to browse and explore our wide range of journals. Watch our guide to see how it works.

Browse through the sections on Women's Studies and Gender Studies.

Primary sources, Libraries and Archives

Women in the National Archives This link opens in a new window 'Women in the National Archives' is a finding Aid to Women's Studies Resources in The National Archives, Kew, combined with original documents on the Suffrage Question in Britain, the Empire and Colonial Territories.
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820 This link opens in a new window Through 75,000 pages of highly curated text-based documents, Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820–a supplement to Women and Social Movements, International–explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices.
Women and Social Movements International 1840 - present (Alexander Street Press). This link opens in a new window Women and Social Movements, International is a collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection demonstrates how women's social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
Women's Studies Archive: Issues and Identities This link opens in a new window As the first module in the Women's Studies Archive, Issues and Identities traces the path of women's issues from past to present—pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. It captures the foundation of women’s movements, struggles and triumphs, and provides researchers with valuable insights, focusing on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. Along with providing a closer look at some of the pioneers of women’s movements, this collection offers scholars a deep dive into the issues that have affected women and the many contributions they have made to society.
Women's Studies Archive: Voice and Vision This link opens in a new window Voice and Vision brings more female voices to the forefront. Particular attention has been paid to the mediums through which women have created a voice for themselves, with female-authored literature, journals and magazines that were produced by women, not just for women. Looking beyond simply women’s suffrage, the archive covers multiple areas that are of key importance to the study of women’s history from a diverse and global perspective, from the abolition of slavery, alcohol and temperance movements, pacifism, and political activism, to domestic service, education, health and hygiene, divorce, and social reform – giving researchers full access to a vital aspect of women’s history.
Women's studies. This link opens in a new window This collection offers access to the works and legacy of many notable and influential women, but also a chance to hear the voices of forgotten and ordinary women. Highlights include: papers and rare printed works of important female writers and thinkers, life writing and autobiographies of a range of 18th and 19th century women, the papers of Sylvia Pankhurst, suffragette, political activist and campaigner, diaries and correspondence of aristocratic women, giving insights into the social, political and cultural history of rich and powerful women of the 18th and 19th centuries, women’s travel writing - manuscript and printed accounts of women travellers, missionaries, tourists and women living across the British Empire.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution colour and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window Contains the full text of works by women writers between 1400 and 1850.
Perdita Manuscripts. Women writers, 1500-1700. This link opens in a new window Produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University and Adam Matthew Digital. The quest of the Perdita Project has been to find early modern women authors who were "lost" because their writing exists only in manuscript form. Adam Matthew Digital has now enhanced this path-breaking research by linking their catalogue descriptions with full digital facsimiles of many of the manuscripts. The manuscripts in this site were written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries and they have been sourced from archives and libraries across the United Kingdom and the USA.
Bibliography of English Women Writers 1500-1640 This link opens in a new window The Bibliography of English Women Writers 1500-1640 has evolved into a still-growing list of scholarship about 738 recovered writers and located texts, canonical and non-canonical. It identifies many hitherto unknown writers, including among them not only already familiar figures, but also women refugees such as the recusants, women in the colonies, Marrano women (Anusot), women translators, and English women writers in French, Greek, Latin, Spanish, Irish Gaelic, Scottish Gaelic, and Welsh.

Freely available archive websites:

The Black Women Oral History Project
The Black Women Oral History Project interviewed 72 African American women between 1976 and 1981. With support from the Schlesinger Library, the project recorded a cross section of women who had made significant contributions to American society during the first half of the 20th century.
Digital Transgender Archive
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.
Discovery
Discovery holds more than 32 million descriptions of records held by The National Archives and more than 2,500 archives across the country. Over 9 million records are available for download.
Glasgow Women's Library
Glasgow Women's Library houses a huge collection of periodicals, pamphlets, and objects that focus on LGBTQ women's history.

Box of Broadcasts

BoB is an off-air recording and media archive service which stores recorded TV and Radio programmes in an archive indefinitely.

Primary sources in the Cadbury Research Library

The Cadbury Research Library, in the Muirhead Tower, is the home for Special Collections and Archives of the University of Birmingham. The collections comprise approximately 200,000 pre-1850 books dating from 1471 and some 4 million manuscripts. The Cadbury Research Library welcomes all interested users, both staff and students of the University and members of the public.

Among the user guides provided by Special Collections is the LGBTQ Resources Guide.