LGBTQI+ ResourcesEquality, Diversity and Inclusion ResourceList - LGBTQ+
A couple of example books:
Understanding Global Sexualities by
Over the course of the past thirty years, there has been an explosion of work on sexuality, both conceptually and methodologically. From a relatively limited, specialist field, the study of sexuality has expanded across a wide range of social sciences. Yet as the field has grown, it has become apparent that a number of leading edge critical issues remain. This theory-building book explores some of the areas in which there is major and continuing debate, for example, about the relationship between sexuality and gender; about the nature and status of heterosexuality; about hetero- and homo-normativity; about the influence and intersection of class, race, age and other factors in sexual trajectories, identities and lifestyles; and about how best to understand the new forms of sexuality that are emerging in both rich world and developing world contexts. With contributions from leading and new scholars and activists from across the globe, this book highlights tensions or 'flash-points' in contemporary debate, and offers some innovative ways forward in terms of thinking about sexuality - both theoretically and with respect to policy and programme development. An extended essay by Henrietta Moore introduces the volume, and an afterword by Jeffrey Weeks offers pointers for the future. The contributors bring together a range of experiences and a variety of disciplinary perspectives in engaging with three key themes of sexual subjectivity and global transformations, sexualities in practice, and advancing new thinking on sexuality in policy and programmatic contexts. It is of interest to students, researchers and activists in sexuality, sexual health and gender studies, especially those working from public health, sociological and anthropological perspectives.
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Some publications may contain explicit content.
Freely available archive websites:
Explore our range of journals on the topics of Gender and Sexuality via Browzine. Watch our guide to see how it works.
Examples journals relating to LGBTQI+ include:
BoB is an off-air recording and media archive service which stores recorded TV and Radio programmes in an archive indefinitely. Explore our LGBTQI+ BoB Playlist. Opens in new window.
The Cadbury Research Library, in the Muirhead Tower, is the home for Special Collections and Archives of the University of Birmingham. The collections comprise approximately 200,000 pre-1850 books dating from 1471 and some 4 million manuscripts. The Cadbury Research Library welcomes all interested users, both staff and students of the University and members of the public.
GLBT Historical Society: Resources from the San Francisco-based society, recognised internationally as a leader in the field of LGBTQI+ public history.
British Library LGBTQ Histories (This link is temporarily unavailable due to a major technology outage as a result of a cyber-attack)